Premier League 2019/20

Premier League 2019/20

The 28 season of the top flight professional English football, Premier League 2019/20 will take place from August 9 2019 to May 17 2020. After a thrilling title race last season against Liverpool, Manchester City emerged as victorious for the second consecutive Premier League Title. The 2019/20 edition of the tournament is set to bring equal amount of excitement, with Liverpool and Manchester City, once again tipped to be the favourites to win the title.

Premier League 18/19 champions Manchester City lifted the trophy for the fourth time in eight seasons whilst becoming the first team since 2009 to retain it.



Article continues below this ad


Comprising of four divisions until 1991, the top division of English football split up and all the teams in the top division, after multiple discussions with the football authorities and television broadcasters, formed the Premier League in 1992.

The competition format remained the same, with three clubs relegated and three clubs promoted every season, and the top four clubs in the Premier League would qualify for the Champions League.

The main reason for the change in approach was to bring in more money into the game. The first broadcast rights for the Premier League was to be won at £304 million over five years by Sky UK. The Premier League is the most-watched sports league in the world, broadcast in 212 territories to 643 million homes and a potential TV audience of 4.7 billion people.


Previous winners


1992–93Manchester UnitedAlex Ferguson
1993–94Manchester UnitedAlex Ferguson
1994–95Blackburn RoversKenny Dalglish
1995–96Manchester UnitedAlex Ferguson
1996–97Manchester UnitedAlex Ferguson
1997–98ArsenalArsène Wenger
1998–99Manchester UnitedAlex Ferguson
1999–2000Manchester UnitedAlex Ferguson
2000–01Manchester UnitedAlex Ferguson
2001–02ArsenalArsène Wenger
2002–03Manchester UnitedAlex Ferguson
2003–04ArsenalArsène Wenger
2004–05ChelseaJosé Mourinho
2005–06ChelseaJosé Mourinho
2006–07Manchester UnitedAlex Ferguson
2007–08Manchester UnitedAlex Ferguson
2008–09Manchester UnitedAlex Ferguson
2009–10ChelseaCarlo Ancelotti
2010–11Manchester UnitedAlex Ferguson
2011–12Manchester CityRoberto Mancini
2012–13Manchester UnitedAlex Ferguson
2013–14Manchester CityManuel Pellegrini
2014–15ChelseaJosé Mourinho
2015–16Leicester CityClaudio Ranieri
2016–17ChelseaAntonio Conte
2017–18Manchester CityPep Guardiola
2018–19Manchester CityPep Guardiola



Most Premier League Titles-

  1. Manchester United – 13

  2. Chelsea – 4

  3. Manchester City- 4

  4. Arsenal – 3

  5. Blackburn Rovers – 1


Premier League 2012-13 Champions Manchester United won it for a record 13th time, but are yet to win since (image Source: PremierLeague)

 Participating Clubs

20 clubs participate in the Premier League every season, except in the first season when 22 clubs participated. Sheffield United, Norwich City and Aston Villa are the new entrants in 2019-20 edition of the tournament.

Team Manager Captain
ArsenalUnai EmeryTBA
Aston VillaDean SmithJames Chester
BournemouthEddie HoweSimon Francis
Brighton & Hove AlbionGraham PotterLewis Dunk
BurnleySean DycheBen Mee
ChelseaFrank LampardCésar Azpilicueta
Crystal PalaceRoy HodgsonLuka Milivojević
EvertonMarco SilvaSéamus Coleman
Leicester CityBrendan RodgersWes Morgan
LiverpoolJürgen KloppJordan Henderson
Manchester CityPep GuardiolaDavid Silva
Manchester UnitedOle Gunnar SolskjærAshley Young
Newcastle UnitedSteve BruceJamaal Lascelles
Norwich CityDaniel FarkeGrant Hanley
Sheffield UnitedChris WilderBilly Sharp
SouthamptonRalph HasenhüttlPierre-Emile Højbjerg
Tottenham HotspurMauricio PochettinoHugo Lloris
WatfordJavi GraciaTroy Deeney
West Ham UnitedManuel PellegriniMark Noble
Wolverhampton WanderersNuno Espírito SantoConor Coady


Transfer Window

The Premier League has two transfer windows- Summer and Winter, where clubs can buy players. The summer transfer window generally over two months long, which begins and ends before the start of the season, while the winter transfer window is the mid-season window, which lasts the month of January. The 2019-20 Premier League transfer window scheduled from May 16 to August 8 2019.

Winter break

The 2019-20 Premier League is the first season to incorporate a winter break, which has always been included in major leagues across the Europe. This came up after much debate about the Premier clubs having a disadvantage in the UEFA Champions League over clubs from other leagues, who come fresh from a winter break.

In February 2020, the Premier League will see one round of matches played over two weekends, with five matches on the weekend commencing February 8, and five on the weekend commencing on February 15.

VAR is introduced for the first time in Premier League (Image Source: PremierLeague)

Prize money

Prize money is drawn from broadcast revenue - TV money - and a team's monetary health come the end of the season depends on how many televised games they are involved in, as well as their final position.

The prize money for the Premier League champions is around £150 million ($182m), although it also brings with it many other financial rewards


The official sponsors for the English Premier League 2019/20 season are-

EA SportsLead Partner
BarclaysOfficial Bank
CadburyOfficial Snack
Coca-ColaOfficial Soft Drink
NikeOfficial Ball
TAG HeuerOfficial Timekeeper
Avery DennisonOfficial Licensee
PaniniOfficial Licensee


Where to watch?



Article continues below this ad

ContinentCountry / TerritoryRights holder
Europe              BelgiumTelenet
Central and Eastern EuropeIMG
Germany, Austria and SwitzerlandSky Deutschland
IrelandSky Sports, BT, Premier Sports
ItalySky Italy
PortugalSport TV
Sweden, Denmark and FinlandNENT
United KingdomSky Sports, BT, Amazon
MENA and Africa  Middle East and North AfricabeIN Sports
South AfricaSuperSport
Sub-Saharan AfricaSuperSport
Sub-Saharan Africa (free-to-air)Infront
Hong KongPCCW
IndiaStar Sports
Indonesia and East TimorMola TV
New ZealandSpark
Pacific IslandsSky Pacific
TaiwanEleven Sports
ThailandTrueVisions Group
AmericasBrazilESPN Brazil
Central AmericaSKY Mexico
GlobalShips and planesIMG/Sport24

Source: PremierLeague



Article continues below this ad