Home ICC T20 World Cup, 2020

ICC T20 World Cup, 2020


The ICC T20 World Cup is scheduled to be held in Australia from 18 October to 15 November 2020. The final will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. This is, however, going to be the seventh ICC T20 World Cup tournament.

Qualification Scenario

The top nine teams in ICC ranking will be qualified directly for the ICC T20 World Cup 2020 tournament. Along with hosts, Australia, among those ten teams, out of top eight teams will qualify for the Super 12s stage of the tournament while the other two teams will play in the group stage along with other six teams who will have to play the ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier in 2019. Four teams from the group stage will go for the Super 12s. The top-10 sides are Pakistan, India, England, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, West Indies and Afghanistan whereas former champions Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will have to play the ICC T20 World Cup Qualifiers with the other six teams in the group stage of the mega event. The six teams who are bottom-ranked, in the ICC rankings i.e. Scotland, Zimbabwe, Netherlands, Hong Kong, Oman and Ireland will go through the qualifier route, where they will take on other Seven teams from the Regional qualification along with host UAE. These 14 teams will play in the Global T20 Qualifiers to seal their place at the ICC T20 World Cup next year in the Group Stage in Australia.

Tournament Format

The main tournament is divided into 3 stages - Group Stage, Super 12 and Knockout. Eight teams will be divided into two groups A and B, in the group stage. Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will be joined by the six teams who will qualify for the mega event through the 2019 ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier. Sri Lanka will compete with the three qualifiers in Group A and Bangladesh will play with other three qualifiers in Group B. The top two teams from each group will be placed to the Super 12 stage, joining the other eight highest-ranked teams in the Super 12. In the Super 12 stage, 12 teams will be divided into two groups of six. Finally, the top two teams from each Super Group will play in the Knockout Stage comprising Semifinals. Super 12 Group Group 1: Pakistan Australia West Indies New Zealand Group A Team 1 Group B Team 2 Group 2: India England South Africa, Afghanistan Group B Team 1 Group A Team 2


The International Cricket Council (ICC) have named seven venues for the tournament. Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney Group Stage - Hobart and Geelong Super 12 - Adelaide, Brisbane, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney Semi-Final - Adelaide and Sydney Final – Melbourne

Winners So Far

Year Host(s) Final Venue Final
Winner Runner-up Margin
2007 South Africa


India Pakistan 5 Runs
2009 England London Pakistan Sri Lanka 8 Wickets
2010 West Indies


England Australia 7 Wickets
2012 Sri Lanka Colombo West Indies Sri Lanka 36 Runs
2014 Bangladesh Dhaka Sri Lanka India 6 Wickets
2016 India Kolkata West Indies England 4 Wickets