New England Patriots

New England Patriots: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report


The New England Patriots started playing professional football in 1960 as part of the AFL. At the time, they went as the Boston Patriots and claimed a division title in their fourth season. 

Following the AFL-NFL joining forces to form one league, the Patriots changed their name from Boston to New England. A year later, on March 22, they shifted base away from Boston and moved to Foxborough, where they are based even today. 

In the next 30 years, the team experienced sporadic success. They won four divisional titles and just two conference championships. 

However, their fortunes turned with the turn of the century. In the year 2000, two men arrived and helped kick-start a dynasty that ruled the NFL for two decades. 

The Brady-Belichick era

The New England Patriots parted ways with Pete Carroll after three seasons and hired coach Bill Belichick amid stunning circumstances. The current New England Patriots head coach resigned during his maiden New York Jets press conference and made the move up north to Massachusetts.

At the draft later that year, New England used their seventh pick of the event to get Michigan prospect Tom Brady at with the overall pick no. 199. 

Read: A Look Back Into The NFL’s Biggest ‘Steal’ Tom Brady in the 2000 NFL Draft

Fans expected Brady to be a backup to Drew Bledsoe. However, the youngster impressed in training and was handed the reins in his sophomore following an injury to the first choice. He turned his team’s fortunes and guided New England to the Super Bowl. 

The New England Patriots won the game and reached eight more Super Bowl games over the next 18 years. The Brady-Belichick combination saw the New England Patriots claim six Super Bowl wins. 

Read: Tom Brady – A History of His Super Bowl Appearances

Furthermore, the team won the AFC East title in all but one season where Tom Brady started as the quarterback. This amounted to 17 titles in 19 seasons, from 2001 to 2019. 

Longtime quarterback and legendary No.12 Brady departed the franchise following the 2019 NFL season. The New England Patriots tie against Tennessee Titans marked the last game with the Brady-Belichick combination. 

Now, the team has former NFL MVP Cam Newton as the quarterback as they embark on the post-Tom Brady era. 

Read: Cam Newton Signs with New England Patriots

New England Patriots Controversies 

The New England Patriots were involved in one of the biggest controversies in the NFL. The franchise allegedly lowered the air pressure in footballs during the 2014 season’s AFC playoff game. This incident was coined as ‘Deflategate.’

Read: THROWBACK: The Scandalous Deflategate and the Fallout Faced By Star QB Tom Brady

The Patriots won the game and denied Russell Wilson back-to-back Super Bowl wins. Later, following an investigation, Tom Brady sat out for four games in the 2016 season before returning to claim his fifth Super Bowl. 


The team’s current owner is Robert Kraft. He purchased the Patriots stadium from Billy Sullivan in 1988. In doing so, he took a first step to getting hold of the team. Six years later, Kraft claimed ownership.

The new owner broached the idea of relocation. Eventually, he remained at Foxborough, which may have won him the fans’ support. 

Under his supervision, the franchise has improved in leaps and bounds. They won the AFC title in the 1996 NFL season. Hence they reached a second Super Bowl to end an eleven-year drought. 

New England Patriots Logo

The New England Patriots’ logo when they played in the AFL was of a hat. However, they opted for a change just a year later. Hence, the Pat Patriot logo came to the fore. 

The image of a revolutionary minuteman stayed on the New England Patriots crest for 23 years. At this point, the franchise developed the logo that is seen in the present day. They retained the tricorne hat in the logo and provide a side profile of what seems to be the minuteman. 

The new logo kept the colors of the national flag and has red stripes on the left, which gives the impression as though it is flying in the wind. Certain fans regard it as a “Flying Elvis.”

Seven years later, they darkened the blue on the logo and it remains on their jersey as of the 2020 NFL season. 

New England Patriots 2020 Roster

The New England Patriots have a 53-player roster for the 2020 NFL season. This consists of three quarterbacks, five running backs, five wide receivers, three tight ends, nine offensive linemen, seven defensive linemen, six linebackers, twelve defensive backs, and three special team players. 

Quarterbacks 2 Brian Hoyer

 1 Cam Newton

 4 Jarrett Stidham

Running Backs 34 Rex Burkhead

26 Sony Michel

42 J. J. Taylor

28 James White

47 Jakob Johnson FB

Wide Receivers 10 Damiere Byrd

11 Julian Edelman

15 N’Keal Harry

16 Jakobi Meyers

18 Matthew Slater

Tight Ends 86 Devin Asiasi

85 Ryan Izzo

44 Dalton Keene

Offensive linemen 60 David Andrews C

72 Jermaine Eluemunor G

64 Hjalte Froholdt G

69 Shaq Mason G

71 Michael Onwenu G

62 Joe Thuney G

76 Isaiah Wynn T

74 Korey Cunningham T

75 Justin Herron T

Defensive linemen 70 Adam Butler DT

99 Byron Cowart DT

93 Lawrence Guy DT

95 Derek Rivers DE

55 John Simon DE

50 Chase Winovich DE

91 Deatrich Wise Jr. DE

linebackers 51 Ja’Whaun Bentley MLB

46 Cassh Maluia MLB

90 Shilique Calhoun OLB

52 Brandon Copeland OLB

58 Anfernee Jennings OLB

53 Josh Uche OLB

Defensive backs 29 Justin Bethel CB

33 Joejuan Williams CB

41 Myles Bryant CB

24 Stephon Gilmore CB

27 J. C. Jackson CB

31 Jonathan Jones CB

30 Jason McCourty CB

22 Cody Davis FS

32 Devin McCourty FS

21 Adrian Phillips SS

25 Terrence Brooks SS

35 Kyle Dugger SS

Special teams 7 Jake Bailey P

49 Joe Cardona LS

 6 Nick Folk K

New England Patriots: Achievements and History

Founded 1960
President Jonathan Kraft
Conference AFC East
Division AFC
Head Coach Bill Belichick
Location/Stadium Gillette Stadium
Championships AFC 11 (1985, 1996, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2011, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018)

AFL East 1 (1963)

AFC East 18 (1978, 1986, 1996, 1997, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019)

Super Bowl 6 (2001, 2003, 2004, 2014, 2016, 2018)
Official website New England Patriots
Mascot Pat Patriot