Wimbledon Championships 2019

Wimbledon Championships History

The Wimbledon Championships is an annual tournament that is held at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club. The club was founded back in 1868 and christened “The All England Croquet Club”.

Eight years later, Major Walter Clopton Wingfield put forward an idea for an outdoor version of court tennis. It was not long before the game was officially added to the list of activities of the club. Then, in 1877, the club was renamed “The All England Croquet and Lawn Tennis Club”. This change was heralded by the inauguration of the maiden Lawn Tennis Championship.

Earlier, the club used to follow a set of rules, put forward by the Marylebone Cricket Club. However, when the Lawn Tennis Championship was born, a new set of rules were drafted. These rules have been in place since time immemorial, and is still in force, to this day. Admittedly, the rules are not a carbon copy of the ones drawn in 1877, as minor changes have been made over the years.

The inaugural 1877 Wimbledon Championship kicked off on 9th July with the Gentlemen’s Singles being the sole event. It was won by Spencer Gore out of 22 other competitors.

In 1882, the word ‘croquet’ was dropped entirely, after lawn tennis became the sole activity at the club. However, the name was back on the plaque in 1899 owing to sentimentality.

In 1884, the championship took another step forward in development when the Ladies’ Singles and Gentlemen’s Doubles competitions were added to the to the roster. Nearly two decades later, the Ladies’ Doubles and Mixed Doubles events would follow. U

On a similar vein with the other three Majors or Grand Slam events, Wimbledon was contested by top-ranked amateur players. During that time, professional players were prohibited from participating.

However, when the Open era arrived in 1968, the rules changed once again. Thought-provokingly, until Fred Perry in 1936 and Andy Murray in 2013, no British man has ever won at Wimbledon.

Meanwhile, on the Ladies’ front, until Virginia Wade in 1977, no British woman has ever triumphed. However, Annabel Croft and Laura Robson won the Girls’ Championship in 1984 and 2008 respectively.

Past Winners


Roger Federer 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012, 2017
Rafael Nadal 2008, 2010
Novak Djokovic 2011, 2014, 2015, 2018
Andy Murray 2013, 2016


Maria Sharapova 2004
Venus Williams 2005, 2007, 2008
Amelie Mauresmo 2006
Serena Williams 2009, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2016
Petra Kvitova 2011, 2014
Marion Bartoli 2013
Garbine Muguruza 2017
Angelique Kerber 2018


At the Wimbledon Championships 2019, a number of records have been set and broken. Prior to the the Open era, William Renshaw won the most titles with seven. However, heading into the Wimbledon Championships 2019, Roger Federer owns that record with 8. Renshaw also has the most consecutive titles, with 6 to his name while Roger Federer is tied with Bjorn Borg on five.

Coming to the Ladies’ segment, Helena Wills has the most pre-Open era Wimbledon titles with 8. However, Martina Navratilova clinch nine titles in the Open era. Also in the pre-Open era, Suzanne Lenglen had the record for the most consecutive titles with 5, she was overtaken by Navratilova on six championships.

Additional record include, the longest Gentlemen’s Singles’ final, belonging to Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal with 4hrs 48mins. The longest ever tennis match was between John Isner and Nicholas Mahut, lasting 11 hours and 5 minutes.

Wimbledon Championships 2019 LIVE Streaming:

Australia – Fox Sports

United States – Tennis Channel

United Kingdom – Eurosport

Europe – Eurosport

Canada – CTV & TSN

Pan-Asia region – Fox Asia

Indian Subcontinent – Star India

Southern Africa – SuperSport

Current Prize Money $2.4 million (men and women)
Number of Entries (Main Draw) 128
Number of Entries (Qualifying) 16
Number of Seeds 32
Court Type Grass