1. Nelson Piquet, 1983 – won by 2 points vs Alain Prost
Nelson Piquet and Alain Prost

Piquet entered the 1983 season finale at the South African GP two points behind leader Alain Prost. The Frenchman had led the standings most of the season, and was expected to win the Championship.

Raceday came, and Piquet led the line at the starting grid, with Prost at 5th. Prost fought his way up, reaching third position, till turbo failure on lap 44 forced him out. At that point, finishing in the top four was enough for Piquet to win. And he did just that, coming in at No. 3 and lifting the trophy.

  1. Alain Prost, 1986 – won by 2 points versus Nigel Mansell, 3 off Nelson Piquet

WhatsApp Image 2016-11-08 at 19.22.52

The 1986 season was the closest in recent history, with Prost, Mansell and Piquet all contending for the championship till the final race-day.

At the start of the race in Adelaide, Mansell was leading Prost by seven points, and very much had the Championship in the bag. But Mansell went through surprisingly bad luck when he blew his tyre, which ended his race. Piquet was leading at the time of the accident, and the team brought him in for an unscheduled pit-stop fearing that the same might happen to him. This led Prost to take the lead, and finish top, winning the Australian Grand Prix and the Championship too.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here