Dhoni and Ashwin relegated to ‘A’ category by BCCI


The BCCI relegated two big names from their top bracket of pay scale. Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Ravichandran Ashwin were omitted from the A+ category, which comprised of only five players. Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Shikhar Dhawan were the players who were selected from the batsmen. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah were the two from the bowling department that were allocated into the A+ category.

The five players in to A+ category will receive an annual contract of seven crore per head. Whereas Dhoni and Ashwin have been pushed into the A category. This category includes seven players who will receive an annual contract of five crore per head. The other five names in this category are, Ravindra Jadeja, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane and Wriddhiman Saha.


Veteran Yuvraj Singh and youngster Rishabh Pant have been omitted from the last list. A BCCI senior was asked about the procedure and calculations behind he pay-scale distribution. “It’s a simple logic that selectors have applied. Play more and get paid more. The five in question are indispensable in all three formats right now. They deserved to be paid more. Also Ravi Shastri, Kohli and Dhoni have been taken into confidence”, he said.

“Dhoni has retired and Ashwin, Jadeja are no longer automatic selections in limited overs. They are as of now not in WC scheme. So in second category,” he added.

The B category comprises of the following players KL Rahul, Umesh Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma and Dinesh Karthik.

The grade C category will have the following: Kedar Jadhav, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Karun Nair, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel and Jayant Yadav.

The Grade B category contracts are worth Rs three crore on an annual basis, while those in Grade C are of Rs one crore.

“The third group (B) comprises of players who are considered as floaters and can be put in anywhere and players who have played at least one match for India in the last one year have been put in Grade C,” the BCCI senior said.

These contracts are valid from October 2017 to September 2018.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here