Mercedes and Hamilton Earn Nominations After Prosperous 2018


Lewis Hamilton had a fantastic 2018 and because of this, he along with Mercedes have been nominated for the prestigious Laurels World Sports Awards for 2019. After seeing off the rivals Ferrari, the team claimed a fifth successive Formula 1 Double World Championship! Lewis found his name in the Word Sportsman of the Year category with stiff competition from basketball player LeBron James, tennis champion Novak Djokovic, Eulid Kipchoge – the marathon world record holder and two football players; Ballon d’Or winner; Luca Modric and FIFA World Cup winner; Kylian Mbappe.

Mercedes are placed in the World Team of the Year award section, and they’re looking to keep their hands on the award, but that will not happen like last year. Competition in this category came from UEFA’s Champions League Real Madrid – who won league for a third success year in 2018, FIFA World Cup winning squad; France, the European Ryder Cup golfing team, the Norwegian Winter Olympics team and finally, basketball’s Golden State Warriors.


Full List of Awards and Nominees and Winners

Team of the Year:

  • France World Cup team – Football – Winner
  • European Ryder Cup team – Golf
  • Golden State Warriors (USA) – Basketball
  • Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula 1 team (Germany) – Formula 1
  • Norway Winter Olympic team
  • Real Madrid (ESP) – Football

Sportsman of the Year:

  • Novak Djokovic (SRB) – Tennis – Winner
  • Lewis Hamilton (GBR) – Formula 1
  • LeBron James (USA) – Basketball
  • Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) – Athletics
  • Kylian Mbappe (FRA) – Football
  • Luka Modric (CRO) – Football

Sportswoman of the Year:

  • Simone Biles (USA) – Gymnastics – Winner
  • Simona Halep (ROU) – Tennis
  • Angelique Kerber (GER) – Tennis
  • Ester Ledecka (CZE) – Skiing / Snowboarding
  • Daniela Ryf (SWI) – Ironman Triathlon
  • Mikaela Shiffrin (USA) – Skiing

Breakthrough of the Year:

  • Naomi Osaka (JPN) – Tennis Winner
  • Ana Carrasco (ESP) – Motor Cycling
  • Sofia Goggia (ITA) – Skiing
  • Jakob Ingebrigsten (NOR) – Athletics
  • Geraint Thomas (GBR) – Cycling
  • Briana Williams (JAM) – Athletics

Naomi Osaka

Comeback of the Year:

  • Tiger Woods (USA) – Golf – Winner
  • Yuzuru Hanyu (JPN) – Skating
  • Mark McMorris (CAN) – Snowboarding
  • Bibian Mentel-Spee (NLD) – Paralympic Snowboarding
  • Vinesh Phogat (IND) – Wrestling
  • Lindsey Vonn (USA) – Skiing

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability:

  • Henrieta Farkasova (SVK) – Skiing – Winner
  • Diede De Groot (NLD) – Wheelchair Tennis
  • Brian McKeever (CAN) – Cross-country skiing
  • Oksana Masters (USA) – Cross-country skiing
  • Grigorios Polychronidis (GRE) – Boccia
  • Markus Rehm (GER) – Athletics

Action Sportsperson of the Year:

  • Chloe Kim (USA) – Snowboarding – Winner
  • Maya Gabeira (BRA) – Surfing
  • Anna Gasser (AUT) – Snowboarding
  • Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) – Surfing
  • Gabriel Medina (BRA) – Surfing
  • Shaun White (USA) – Snowboarding

This article has been written by Anna Marcela, a Freelance writer and who currently works with, an Online Gaming Portal Guide.