4.Roger vs Mohammed Lahyani ( Madrid masters final 2012)

unnamed (2)

Match situation: Tomas Berdych had taken the first set 6-3 in the final of the only tournament to take place on blue clay. In  the second set, Roger Federer was 3-0 up in the second set with Tomas Berdych serving.

The Incident: Roger Federer played a brilliantly  disguised drop shot of the backhand wing. Thomas Berdych defying all odds made a forehand lift shot and Federer missed the incoming backhand passing shot. Federer argued with the umpire Mohammed Lahyani that the shot Berdych made was my fact a double bounce and supported his claim by stating that  the ball contained topspin which was only possible if the ball had bounced twice before coming on the racquet.

Aftermath: Though Roger Federer’s serve was broken in the next game, he went on to win the match. Replays showed that the ball and indeed bounced twice before hitting Berdych’s racquet.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here