ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Bangladesh

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is about to begin from May 30 to July 14. Top 10 test teams are participating in the biggest event in cricket. This is the first time that the World cup will be played with Round-Robin format.

Bangladesh has been participating at the World Cup since 1999. Bangladesh has been evolving as a team in cricket. Their best performance came when they reached the super eight in 2007 World Cup and quarterfinals in 2015 World Cup.

Bangladesh has been performing well in the Asia Cup and their team is improving year by year. However, they are still not ready to reach the knockout stages of the tournament. Bangladesh will be knocked out in the round-robin.


Article continues below this ad

Tamil Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim make their batting lineup very strong with both the players guiding the innings in the opening overs and in the middle overs

The bowling lineup of Bangladesh looks weak with no one supporting Mustafizur Rahman.

Bangladesh Captain, Mashrafe Mortaza hinted to their fans that keeping high hopes from.them would lead to disappointment as it will be difficult for them to reach the knock out stages of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

He said, "It will be difficult for us because our opponents in the opening three games are extremely strong. To get a positive result against them won't be easy."

Bangladesh will play their Asian rivals Pakistan and India in the two warm-up games before the start of the ICC World Cup 2019. They'll face Pakistan on May 26 and India on May 28.

Bangladesh vs South Africa, 2 June
Bangladesh vs New Zealand, 5 June
Bangladesh vs England, 8 June
Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, 11 June
Bangladesh vs West Indies,17 June
Bangladesh vs Australia, 20 June
Bangladesh vs Afghanistan, 24 June
Bangladesh vs India, 2 July


Article continues below this ad

Bangladesh vs Pakistan, 5 July

Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan (VC), Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahaman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed.


Article continues below this ad

Bangladesh would be entering the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 as the no. 7 ranked team. It will be a tough path for Bangladesh in every match, however, anything in the top 6 rankings after the round-robin would prove their performance better.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Bangladesh News Feed