UFC Fight Night 176

The UFC continues with its events, which will emanate from the UFC Apex in the city of Las Vegas. UFC Fight Night: Overeem vs Sakai or UFC Fight Night 176 will be the promotion's 18th event since resuming in May following COVID-19 pandemic stoppages. The date of the event is September 5, 2020. 

Also, it is the sixth event to take place at the venue since the promotion returned from Fight Island.

The bouts will take place in the 25-foot enclosure which has been the standard for all UFC Apex events. The main and preliminary cards feature eight sanctioned MMA bouts for the UFC fight card.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

UFC Fight Night 176- Main Card 

Weight ClassFightResult
HeavyweightAlistair Overeem vs Augusto Sakai
Women’s bantamweightOvince Saint Preux vs Alonzo Menifield
WelterweightMichael Pereira vs Zelim Imadaev
FeatherweightBrian Kelleher vs Kevin Natividad
LightweightThiago Moises vs Jalin Turner

 

Alistair Overeem celebrates a win

The event will see multi promotion champion Alistair Overeem fight Augusto Sakai in the main event. The battle between ranked UFC heavyweight contenders will see ‘Demolition Man’ look to break into the heavyweight title scene quickly. 

UFC Fight Night 175's Ovince Saint Preux vs Alonzo Menifield will take the co-main event slot.

Unranked welterweight fighters Michael Pereira and Zelim Imadaev clash in the third match of the card. Both Imadaev and Pereira head into this MMA bout on the back of successive defeats. 

A lightweight fight featuring Thiago Moises and Jalin Turner will kick off proceedings on the main card. This fight sees both 25-year-olds trying to get a second win in 2020. 

UFC Fight Night 176- Preliminary card

Weight ClassFightResult
MiddleweightAndre Muniz vs Bartosz Fabinski
Women’s flyweightViviane Araujo vs Montana De La Rosa
HeavyweightAlexandr Romanov vs Marcos Rogerio De Lima
BantamweightCole Smith vs Hunter Azure

Lightweight fighters Bartosz Fabinski and Andre Muniz kick off proceedings on the preliminary card. Fabinski is yet to claim a finish in the UFC which he will want to rectify quickly given his record before signing with the promotion.

 Muniz is riding a five-fight win streak that and has three wins in the UFC, of which two came from Dana White's Contender Series.

The other bouts on the preliminary card feature women's flyweight fighters Viviane Araujo vs Montana De La Rosa.

Both are ranked contenders, with the latter getting a higher-ranked opponent at short notice.  However, the latter has experience at flyweight, which should balance the scales. 

A heavyweight fight featuring Alexandr Romanov vs Marcos Rogerio de Lima and a bantamweight bout featuring Cole Smith and Hunter Azure will kick things off.

Canceled bouts

Bantamweight fighters Brian Kelleher and Ricky Simon were scheduled to fight on the main card. However, the latter withdrew after his cornerman tested positive for COVID-19. 

Moreover, Montana De La Rosa was set to fight Maryna Moroz. However, the fighter had to pull out because of travel issues.

The co-main event would have seen Macy Chiasson fight Sijara Eubanks, however the 12th ranked fighter withdrew for medical reasons.  

Where to watch UFC Fight Night 176?

Fans can catch UFC Fight Night 176 on live stream and on television channels. The official live stream takes place on the globally available UFC Fight Pass.

Global: UFC Fight Pass

United States: ESPN+

Australia: Main Event, Fetch TV 

United Kingdom: BT Sport, live streaming on BT Sport app

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Canada: TSN, RDS 

India: Sony Ten 2, live streaming on Sony App

What time does UFC Fight Night 176 start?

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

The main card begins at 1700 hours PST (2000 EST) 0000 GMT. The preliminary card kicks off at 1500 PST (1800 EST) 2200 GMT.