3. 103 not out v Sri Lanka, P Sara Oval, Colombo, 2010:

1-0 down in the series, India were chasing 257 for victory on a spinning track. The Sri Lankan attack consisted of Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis and Lasith Malinga. India started day 3 at 53/3 and were soon 62/4 when nightwatchman Ishant Sharma was dismissed. Laxman along with Tendulkar stitched a century stand. While Sachin was dismissed, Laxman scored a fluent century fighting a back injury and steered India towards victory. Randiv’s extra bounce was neutralised with a quick adaptation to varying lengths and the use of soft hands. Mendis’ googlies were read early, and Malinga’s slightly wayward line was dominated with flicks, glances and pulls, along with a safe negotiation of his yorkers.

VVS Laxman celebrates century with Suresh Raina and Virender Sehwag


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here