Did Patrick Reed Really Cheat at Tiger Woods’ Tournament? Here Are 2 Sides of the Story

Patrick Reed has had a controversial career during his tenure on the PGA Tour. The golfer left the Tour to join the newly Started LIV Golf. However, the cheating allegations have been haunting Reed to this day. Today, we take a look at both sides of the story when Patrick Reed was given a 2 stroke penalty for cheating

hero world challenge hosted by tiger woods

Back in 2019, Patrick Reed was participating in the Hero World Challenge. The tournament is annually hosted by the 15-time Major champion Tiger Woods. All proceedings from the event go to the Tiger Woods Foundation.

caught on camera

When Reed was getting ready to play his third shot on the par-5 11th hole during the third round at Albany, his ball was in a depression in the sand and he was in a waste bunker. Reed was caught on cameras hitting the ball twice in practice swings while shifting sand out from under it.

two-stroke penalty

While struggling to get the ball out of the bunker, Reed ended up receiving a two-stroke penalty from the officials. The 2019 Masters winner understandably defended himself against the officials for the penalty.

PGA Tour penalizes Patrick Reed

Reed was then called to watch the replay before being imposed the penalty. However, he asked the officials to watch another angle of the shot that proved Reed’s innocence. But the replay was satisfactory enough for the officials to penalize the golfer.

Reed comments on the infamous incident

Reed said, “I wish [the cameras] were actually directly on the side of me because it was in a pretty good footprint … and I felt like my club was that far behind the ball when I was actually taking the practice stroke, which I felt like I was taking it up. And it was … obviously, it was hitting a little sand.”


The 32-year-old further added how the golf club would eventually touch the sand no matter what during the practice swings. He then said, “Whenever they brought it up to me and I saw it, it definitely did drag some of the sand. Because of that, it’s considered a two-stroke penalty.”

what position did reed finish in that tournament?

Despite Patrick Reed’s defending statements, the golfer was still penalized. As per the rule book, Reed did break the penalty. However, the golfer states it is a clear misunderstanding of the officials. Nonetheless, Reed managed to finish the tournament in the third position despite the indecent third round.

How Many Teenagers Have Won on the Korn Ferry Tour?

When Justin Timberlake Compared the Pressure of Performing Live With Playing Golf: ‘It’s Ridiculous’

The Korda Sisters Find Themselves in a Strange Dilemma at the 2022 LPGA Season Opener