Lionel Messi, Wayne Rooney and other notable names to have won the Golden Boy award

The Golden Boy is an award that is given by sports journalists to a young footballer playing in Europe perceived to have been the most impressive during a calendar year.

Wayne Rooney

Wayne Rooney was the second winner of the award after it was announced in 2003

Lionel Messi 

One of the first achievements
in Messi's amazing career is the Golden Boy Award.

Kylian Mbappe

Mbappé beat his French teammate Ousmane Dembélé and ManUtd’s Marcus Rashford to win the prize.

Matthijs de Ligt

Ajax defender Matthijs de Ligt has been named the 2018 Golden Boy winner.

Erling Haaland

Haaland beat off competition from Barca forward Ansu Fati, who was runner-up, to win the award


Pedri becomes the second 
Barcelona player to win the award after Messi.

stay updated with all the latest Sports news