No Indian in the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires with Sundaram Ravi Axed

July 30, 2019 6:20 pm

The lone Indian umpire in the ICC’s Elite Panel of Umpires, Sundaram Ravi, has been left out of the panel for 2019-20. The Elite panel now has two new additions in Michael Gough from England and Joel Wilson from West Indies.

The decision was taken by a selection panel, comprising Sanjay Manjrekar, Ranjan Madugalle and David Boon along with ICC General Manager, Geoff Allardice.

Ravi, who was a part of the ICC Elite panel of Umpires last year, was axed by the ICC without stating any reason. ICC senior manager, Adrian Griffith said that being an elite official was extremely challenging and scrutinized by many people.

“Being an elite official is an extremely challenging job. Every decision is scrutinized by millions of fans and each match official is subject to a rigorous ongoing performance assessment throughout the year,” Adrian Griffith told

Another umpire, Ian Gould opted to retire giving way for two openings to be filled. Gough and Wilson, who have previously been part of the Elite Panel were recalled to fill the positions. Michael Gough has stood as an umpiring in nine Test matches, 59 ODIs and 14 T20Is while Joel Wilson has officiated in 13 Test matches, 63 ODIs and 26 T20Is.

“We are fortunate to have some fantastic officials who are able to withstand the pressures of the job and deliver consistently on the international stage. Michael and Joel are deserving additions to the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Umpires and I wish them all the best for the coming season and for the future,” Griffith added.

With all the other umpires in the Elite Panel keeping their places, Gough and Wilson will complete the 12-man panel along with Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel and Rod Tucker.

Meanwhile, ICC have also announced the Elite Panel of match referees which remain unchanged. Former Indian bowler Javagal Srinath retained his place with David Boon, Chris Broad, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, Andy Pycroft and Richie Richardson.

Tags: Aleem Dar
Disqus Comments Loading...