MLB is the biggest baseball league played in the United States of America. It is played in America with 30 teams competing in it.

MLB also oversees Minor League Baseball, which comprises 256 teams affiliated with the major league clubs.



Article continues below this ad

The game of baseball was found in the 1860s. It was initially played by soldiers in their camps during the Civil War. Soon, the Americans played the game at a national level. And by the end of the year, there was a governing body for the game with over 400 amateur clubs as members. It began at a professional level in 1869 with Cincinnati Red Stockings being the first professional club. That is the year which is associated with the forming of MLB.

The MLB currently comprises of two leagues: National League (NL) and American League (AL).

The NL and AL were formed as separate legal entities in 1876 and 1901 respectively. In 1903, the two leagues cooperated. However, they remained separate entities legally. In 2000, the leagues merged into a single organization

Participating teams

There are 30 teams competing in the MLB divided into two leagues- American League and National League. The American League has 15 teams and the National League has 15 teams. Each of the leagues is further divided into three divisions: East, the Central, and the West.

National League



  • Atlanta Braves

  • Miami Marlins

  • New York Mets

  • Philadelphia Phillies

  • Washington Nationals



  • Chicago Cubs

  • Cincinnati Reds

  • Milwaukee Brewers

  • Pittsburgh Pirates

  • St. Louis Cardinals


  • Arizona Diamondbacks

  • Colorado Rockies

  • Los Angeles Dodgers

  • San Diego Padres

  • San Francisco Giants

American League


  • Baltimore Orioles

  • Boston Red Sox

  • New York Yankees

  • Tampa Bay Rays

  • Toronto Blue Jays



Article continues below this ad

  • Chicago White Sox

  • Cleveland Indians

  • Detroit Tigers

  • Kansas City Royals

  • Minnesota Twins


  • Houston Astros

  • Los Angeles Angels

  • Oakland Athletics

  • Seattle Mariners

  • Texas Rangers


Article continues below this ad