In August 1920, representatives from four states- Akron, Canton, Cleveland, and Dayton- held a meeting and formed the American Professional Football Conference (APFC) to improve footballing standards in the country. A month later, they formed the American Professional Football Association (APFA) and played a league with 14 teams. In 1922, they changed the name to National Football League (NFL).

In 1960, a new professional league- American Football League (AFL) started as a competition to the NFL. After six years, in 1966, the two leagues announced a merger that would take effect from 1970. During the four years between the announcement and the actual merger, the leagues started playing a Championship game- The Suoer Bowl. Since their merger, the two leagues are being recognized as two conferences within the NFL.

Participating teams

There are 32 teams in the NFL divided equally among the two conferences- National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC). Each of the conferences is further divided into 4 divisions- East, North, South, and West- with each division containing four teams.

American Football Conference (AFC)


  • Buffalo Bills
  • Miami Dolphins
  • New England Patriots
  • New York Jets


  • Baltimore Ravens
  • Cincinnati Bengals
  • Cleveland Browns
  • Pittsburgh Steelers


  • Houston Texans
  • Indianapolis Colts
  • Jacksonville Jaguars
  • Tennessee Titans


  • Denver Broncos
  • Kansas City Chiefs
  • Oakland Raiders
  • Los Angeles Chargers

National Football Conference (NFC)


  • Dallas Cowboys
  • New York Giants
  • Philadelphia Eagles
  • Washington Redskins


  • Chicago Bears
  • Detroit Lions
  • Green Bay Packers
  • Minnesota Vikings


  • Atlanta Falcons
  • Carolina Panthers
  • New Orleans Saints
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers


  • Arizona Cardinals
  • Los Angeles Rams
  • San Francisco 49ers
  • Seattle Seahawks

“The Dude is Large” – Julian Edelman Reveals his First Reaction Upon Meeting Cam Newton

The last couple of months have been some sort of a roller coaster ride for…

“You’ve Got to Move On”- Julian Edelman Opens Up on Life After Tom Brady

Tom Brady ended his long-standing association with the New England Patriots earlier this year. The…

Ron Rivera Claims Alex Smith Will Pose a ‘Very Interesting Challenge’ at Quarterback

Alex Smith suffered a drastic injury in 2018 while playing for the Washington Redskins (now…

Patrick Mahomes

WATCH: Can Kansas City Chiefs Retain Their Super Bowl Title?

The Patrick Mahomes-led Kansas City Chiefs defied all odds over the course of the 2019…

“Let’s go at it again” – Analyst Confident That Tom Brady Will Get Second Chance in Florida

Tom Brady created a huge stir when he decided to leave the New England Patriots…

“No limitations” – Chicago Bears Star Confident About Team’s Defense

Chicago Bears began their second season under Matt Nagy on a positive note as they…

“Fresh New Start”- New York Giants Superstar Looking Forward to 2020 Season

Saquon Barkley was the second overall pick in the 2018 NFL draft. He was drafted…

“Like the Pressure” – David Johnson Eager to Prove Himself After DeAndre Hopkins’ Trade

Veteran NFL wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins was offloaded by Houston Texans earlier this year. Arizona…

Best Quotes By NFL Hall of Famer Deion Sanders’

NFL Hall of Famer – Deion Sanders – turns 53 on Sunday. At his peak,…

Tom Brady

“So many unknowns” – NFL Hall of Famer Curious Ahead of Tom Brady’s Tampa Bay Debut

Tom Brady turned 43 last week. Most athletes are enjoying life-after-sports when they are at…

“Unique receiving corps” – Dallas Cowboys’ Executive Optimistic About Young Stars

Dallas Cowboys ended their 2019 season with an 8-8 record. They failed to make the…

Dak Prescott, Dallas Cowboys

“Lot of fun to be around” – Cowboys Coach Delighted With Quarterback Dak Prescott

Dallas Cowboys have strengthened in the offseason by bringing in rookie wide receiver CeeDee Lamb…

“The Real fun is winning” – Sammy Watkins Content With Staying in Missouri

Sammy Watkins was one of the most sought-after players back in 2014. He was picked…

Tom Brady

“That is really tough” – Tom Brady Talks About His Hurdles After Arriving in Tampa Bay

Tampa Bay Buccaneers pulled off a major coup by bringing in veteran NFL quarterback Tom…

“Knows his stuff” – Bengals Teammates Rave On About Number One Pick Joe Burrow

Joe Burrow etched his name in record books after a stellar showing with Louisiana State…

Potential Antonio Brown – Aaron Rodgers Pairing at Lambeau Field This Year?

Once again, veteran wide receiver Antonio Brown has made the headlines in recent weeks. This…

Tom Brady

WATCH: Tom Brady, Rob Gronkowski feature in Buccaneers’ Training Reel

It’s been a wild couple of months for six-time Super Bowl winner Tom Brady. After…

Bill Belichick

“I guess we’ll see” – Patriots Coach Bill Belichick Prepares For Tough 2020 Season

Bill Belichick arrived in New England back in 2000, the same year that a certain…

“A Personal Goal of Mine”- Arizona Cardinals’ Pass Rusher Aims to Break NFL Record

Chandler Jones joined the Arizona Cardinals in 2016. Originally, the linebacker was drafted by the…

Lakers’ LeBron James and Anthony Davis Give Updates on Team’s Ongoing Madden Tournament Inside the Bubble

After spending a few initial tough days at the Orlando Bubble, NBA players have now…

Aaron Rodgers

“Aaron Rodgers is a headache” – Former NFL Man Tips Packers Man for MVP

It’s been a rough couple of years for the Green Bay Packers and their extensive…

Lamar Jackson

“They Will Fly Through to the Playoffs” – Analyst Expecting Baltimore Ravens to March On

The 2019 NFL season was all about the Baltimore Ravens. Lamar Jackon’s Ravens lit up…

Super Bowl MVP Patrick Mahomes Was Out Giving Autographs Since He Was Six!

Patrick Mahomes has quickly grown into a household name over the last year or two.…

“Has That Swag About Him” – Browns’ New Tight End Eager to Play With Baker Mayfield

Baker Mayfield is on the proverbial ‘hot seat’ at the moment. The former Heisman Trophy…

Patrick Mahomes

Where Does Super Bowl LIV MVP Patrick Mahomes Live? Here’s All We Know About the Quarterback’s House

Patrick Mahomes arrived at Kansas City after spending a lot of time in Texas first…

Aaron Rodgers

“Scared of that dude” – Analyst Claims Aaron Rodgers Will Light Up The League in 2020

It will be an interesting season for Aaron Rodgers and the Green Bay Packers as…

“You Have to Draft the Best Player”- Amari Cooper Heaps Praise on Dallas Cowboys’ Pair

Dallas Cowboys were in the news all throughout the offseason due to the Dak Prescott…

Josh Allen Responds To Patrick Mahomes’ Throwing Contest Invitation

Josh Allen made his debut on the NFL Top 100 list earlier this year. The…

“They Don’t See Us As Humans”- Players Slam NFL for Change in Opt-Out Rule

The current scenario surrounding the 2020 NFL season remains shrouded in mystery. It is unclear…

Lamar Jackson

“Making them look bad” – NFL Expert Shuts Down Lamar Jackson Doubters

Lamar Jackson had a tremendous season in 2019 which ended with him being crowned as…