Now Reading
2016 Formula 1 Season : What we know so far (Updated)

2016 Formula 1 Season : What we know so far (Updated)

With the 2015 Formula 1 season having finished and the drivers and constructors championships being taken by Lewis Hamilton and the Mercedes team respectively, talk about the next season is gathering with everything all but finalized. From the calendar to the drivers, we look at the things we know so far for the 2016 Formula 1 season.

Driver Changes

Mercedes, Ferrari, Mclaren, Sauber, Williams and Force India will be retaining their 2015 driver lineups for the next season. Mclaren recently announced that it would be parting ways with Kevin Magnussen who has been given a chance for a Porsche LMP1 test.

Jolyon Palmer (GBR) Lotus F1 Team Test and Reserve Driver. 12.03.2015. Formula 1 World Championship, Rd 1, Australian Grand Prix, Albert Park, Melbourne, Australia, Preparation Day. - www.xpbimages.com, EMail: requests@xpbimages.com - copy of publication required for printed pictures. Every used picture is fee-liable. © Copyright: Moy / XPB Images
Jolyon Palmer (GBR) Lotus F1 Team Test and Reserve Driver. Credits – motorsport.com © Copyright: Moy / XPB Images

With Romain Grosjean leaving Lotus, Jolyon Palmer has been announced by Lotus as their second driver who will be partnering Pastor Maldonado. Red Bull and Torro Rosso look set to continue their driver lineups comprising of Daniel Kvyat and Ricciardo for Red Bull and Verstappen and Carlos Sainz for Torro Rosso, for the next season.

The new entrant Haas F1 has chosen Romain Grosjean and Esteban Guttierez for its driver lineup for the new season as it wants experienced racers to take the team forward. Manor Marrusia has yet to announce their driver lineup for next season but with Mercedes becoming their new engine supplier for next season, Pascal Wehrlein looks to be a probable candidate.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5
Scroll To Top