Now Reading
5 Uncapped Players inducted into Sri Lankan Squad for T20s

5 Uncapped Players inducted into Sri Lankan Squad for T20s

It seems that a desperate Sri Lankan Cricket Board has now turned towards the youth for bailing them out of their misery. That is why they have inducted five new players into the team namely fast bowler Binura Fernando, legspinner Jeffrey Wandersey and batsmen Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, and Dhananjaya de Silva.

Strangely Dinesh Chandimal and Lahiru Thirimanne have not been included and Kulasekara and Chamara Kapugedara have been brought back who last played a T20 many moons ago.

Clearly the board is in utter state of chaos and confusion and is trying all the possible permutations to create something out of ordinary.

“We need to get the younger brigade in the stream, so we have a gradual transition leading up to the next World T20 and the 50-over World Cup beyond that,” chief selector Kapila Wijegunawardene said.

“We need to put them on the ground and see how they perform.”

“Chandimal and Thirimanne needed to prepare for the upcoming India Test series which is a very important one. Offspinner Tharindu Kaushal we are also saving for the Tests. We’re trying to manage all their workloads because we have a very busy calendar till July next year.”

Well, atleast they’re trying something and let us hope that this change brings some order back to the team who are currently mentally bruised after two straight defeats at home.

Sri Lanka squad: Lasith Malinga (Capt), TM Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Kithruwan Vithanage, Dhananjaya de Silva, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Chamara Kapugedera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Thisara Perera, Jeffrey Vandersay, Nuwan Kulasekara, Binura Fernando, Chaturanga de Silva, Milinda Siriwardene

Scroll To Top