‘Do You Think It’s Warranted?– Andy Roddick Questions the ’Suspension’ Rule in Response to Nick Kyrgios’ Reaction Towards Latest French Open Incident

Published 05/27/2022, 9:06 AM EDT
Mar 23, 2022; Miami Gardens, FL, USA; Nick Kyrgios (AUS) talks to the chair umpire during a changeover against Adrian Mannarino (FRA) (not pictured) in a first round men’s singles match in the Miami Open at Hard Rock Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

The world of tennis is never free from one or the other on-court contention. On-court actions have been a topic of debate. The one that is gaining popularity right now is that of Irina-Camelia Begu, who indulged in a racquet bouncing incident. Nick Kyrgios, who has been heavily fined because of on-court actions, commented on the issue.

Nick Kyrgios and Andy Roddick express concern 

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Former world no. 1 Andy Roddick took to his Twitter to show his discontent with the lack of uniformity in the rules. This was in regard to an incident where Irina-Camelia Begu bounced her racquet into the crowd at the French Open 2022. She was playing against Ekaterina Alexandrova. Andy Roddick shared the incident under which Nick Kyrgios tweeted, “So 25k fine? Suspension?… …” The tennis authorities have heavily fined Nick Kyrgios over his on-court actions. He was fined $35,000 dollars during the Miami Open.

Mar 17, 2022; Indian Wells, CA, USA; Nick Kyrgios (AUS) smashes his racket on the court during his quarterfinal match against Rafael Nadal (ESP) at the BNP Paribas Open at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden. Mandatory Credit: Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

To this Andy Roddick tweeted, “Do you think it’s warranted? Are all throws the same? I thought she was lucky to still be in the tourney. Not because it was the most aggressive throw ever, but because precedent has been set. Inconsistency w rulings just add to confusion.”

What can be the solution?

Roddick also presented a solution in his comment section while interacting with fans. He replied, “I think that’s probably the way it should be. I do think there’s a difference between a racket into the stands and a ball ….. because one is fuzzy rubber, and the other is metal. A blanket ruling probably most clear solution though.”

Andy Roddick expressed his confusion regarding the matter and promoted clarity regarding this issue. Because such an incident has happened and the results were strikingly different. This shows the confusion between the rules. Moreover, the decision to Begu’s incident was a code violation for unsportsmanlike conduct, along with a warning. And she defeated her opponent as well.

Serbia’s Novak Djokovic reacts during his final match against Russia’s Daniil Medvedev | Credits: Reuters

However, this did not happen when Novak Djokovic accidentally hit a line judge at the US Open 2020 and was disqualified for that.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Tennis – French Open – Roland Garros, Paris, France – May 25, 2022 Spain’s Carlos Alcaraz reacts during his second round match against Spain’s Albert Ramos-Vinolas REUTERS/Gonzalo Fuentes

French Open 2022

The French Open has kept the fans on edge rooting for their favorite players. The crowd favorites, Iga Swiatek, Carlos Alcaraz Garfia, Rafael Nadal, and Novak Djokovic, are hot on their toes.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

WATCH THIS STORY: Will Smith Shows How King Richard Cast Trained Like Serena and Venus Williams

Undoubtedly, fans are excited about seeing their performance and anticipate the nerve-wracking results.

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

ADVERTISEMENT

Shivali Sharma

236 articles

Shivali Sharma is a tennis author at EssentiallySports. She has pursued her Master's in history from Himachal University, but her love for the game has driven her to write about tennis. Shivali is a huge fan of Naomi Osaka and admires Osaka not only for her on-court performances, but also for her off-court actions.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT