Now Reading
All You Need to Know About the French Open 2020 Trophies

All You Need to Know About the French Open 2020 Trophies

The French Open 2020 will be a very different tournament than the previous editions. With the ‘bubble life’ and a limited number of fans, that too just on Court Philippe Chatrier, the tournament will feel unusual. What remains the same for the players, though, is the desire to lift the coveted trophy and be a Grand Slam champion.

The main French Open event has five historic trophies for the five draws. These are men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s doubles, and mixed doubles.

All five French Open trophies have some history of the event attached to them, as well as that of past legends of tennis. They have been awarded to champions since 1953.

Who has made the French Open 2020 trophies?

The trophies have been made by the famous Parisian jewelers – La Maison Mellerio.

Men’s singles trophy at French Open 2020

One of the two main trophies, The Musketeers’ Cup, is awarded to the winner of the men’s singles event. The trophy is a classy silver bowl with swan-shaped handles and vine leaves decorating the top. It sits on a marble base and displays the names of all winners of the men’s singles event since 1891.

French Open 2020

The name is a tribute to Jean Borotra, Jacques Brugnon, Henri Cochet, and René Lacoste, who are known as the four musketeers of French tennis.

Rafael Nadal has held this trophy the most number of times, with 12 Roland Garros to his name.

Women’s singles trophy

The Suzanne-Lenglen Cup has been awarded to the women’s singles champion for the last 41 years. It honors women’s tennis legend, Suzanne Lenglen, who is a six-time French Open champion, from the 1920s.

The trophy bears resemblance to the cup offered to Lenglen by the City of Nice, back in the day. It is displayed in the National Sports Museum.

Chris Evert has seven French Open titles, the most women’s singles titles in the Open Era, and overall.

Men’s doubles trophy

The men’s doubles champions at the French Open 2020 lift the Jacques-Brugnon Cup, which is a tribute to one of the Musketeers who goes by the same name. It was created in 1989.

Women’s doubles trophy

The Simonne-Mathieu Cup was created 30 years ago and has been awarded to the women’s singles champions since. It honors Simonne Mathieu, who won two women’s singles titles at the French Open and is an eight-time finalist. She is an eight-time champion in the women’s doubles and mixed doubles as well.

The third biggest court at Roland Garros is also named after Mathieu.

Mixed doubles trophy

The Marcel-Bernard Cup, also around since 1990, is awarded to the mixed doubles champions. It is a tribute to Marcel Bernard, who is a former champion as well as President of the French Tennis Federation.

The French Open 2020 main draw matches will begin on September 27th. While Rafael Nadal will attempt to defend his trophy, the women’s singles will see a new winner this year.

Read MoreAll You Need to Know About French Open 2020 Retractable Roof

Scroll To Top