Australia T20I Squad Announce for the Upcoming Series; Steve Smith, David Warner, Pat Cummins Return

October 8, 2019 2:25 pm

Australia have announced a 14-member T20I squad for the upcoming three-match series against Sri Lanka and Pakistan. Steve Smith, David Warner, Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc have returned to the T20I format as Australia start preparations for the upcoming T20I World Cup which is scheduled next year. However, Chris Lynn and Marcus Stoinis failed to make it to the cut while Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar have been named in the 14-member squad.

“It is almost a year to the day until Australia hosts the men’s Twenty20 World Cup and we have selected this squad with that in mind,” Trevor Hohns National Selector said in a statement. “We have looked to put a squad together that we think can take us through to that tournament.”

“The squad we have selected is quite role specific and we believe it gives us the flexibility to thrive in all match conditions. In terms of batsmen, we have selected top and middle-order specialists. The likes of Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Ashton Turner and Carey provide us excellent options through the middle-order after Finch, Warner and Smith,” said Hohns.

David Warner and Steve Smith

Both David Warner and Steve Smith have returned to the national team after serving a one-year ban from the international cricket due to the ball-tampering scandal. While Warner showed a great consistency in the Indian Premier League and the ICC World Cup 2019, Steve Smith was the hero of the Ashes series who scored more than 700 runs in the series. Both David Warner and Steve Smith are the vital cogs for Australia in the T20 World Cup.

Australia included Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins in the T20I squad. Both of them helped their side retain the Ashes. Moreover, Starc was the highest wicket-taker in the ICC World Cup earlier this year. On the other hand, Cummins was pretty economical in the Ashes series. They included  all-rouner  Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa for the spin option.

Mitchell Starc

“We’re also confident in the potency and flexibility of our fast bowling group. Mitchell Starc gives us a left-arm option and has earned a reputation as one of the world’s leading quicks at the top of the innings and at the death. Pat Cummins is a world-class right-arm option and has been in superb form of late. Andrew Tye is a wicket-taking proposition, Billy Stanlake has the X-factor and Kane Richardson has been an excellent short-form player for some time now,” he concluded.

Australia T20I squad: Aaron Finch (C), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Disqus Comments Loading...