Australia vs New Zealand, 2nd Test: Australians Left Infuriated after Mitchell Santner Survives a DRS Call

Published 12/28/2019, 4:39 AM EST


Many Australians were left disappointed and fuming when a call from the Decision Review System (DRS) during the second test between Australia and New Zealand on Friday went against the Australians. Mitchell Santner was initially given not out by the on-field umpire Marais Erasmus. The Australians, feeling quite confident, went for a review.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

The replays showed the ball was extremely close to Santner’s gloves. For third umpire Aleem Dar, there wasn’t enough evidence in it to overturn the on-field decision and the eventual decision remained not out.

This infuriated many Australians who thought the ball had brushed the glove on its way.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

“That has been missed by the third umpire, absolutely as plain as day,” former Australian captain Ricky Ponting said on commentary for Channel Seven.Ponting opined that the sweatband at the end of Santner’s glove could be seen moving when the ball is near it, suggesting the ball hit the glove.

“If you can’t get that right, then you shouldn’t be doing it,” he criticised the umpire. Ponting’s teammate during his playing days, Shane Warne, was also of a similar opinion saying the umpire got it wrong.

“The sweatband clearly moved and it should have been overturned,” Warne told foxsports.com.au. “Sometimes the umpires get it wrong, but I don’t think Dar sees enough of the vision either. He should have asked for more angles before making his decision and I believe he got it wrong.”

Another former Australian cricketer Mark Waugh also tweeted against the decision, saying it was clearly out.

 

Twitter users slam the decision-

 

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

ADVERTISEMENT

Saketh Kandadai

1758 articles

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT