Breaking: Leicester City win the Premier League

Published 05/02/2016, 5:16 PM EDT

It’s official! Leicester City are the 2015-16 Barclays Premier League Champions after Tottenham drew 2-2 at Stamford Bridge. In what has been an exhilarating campaign, Leicester have deservedly claimed the famous trophy with two games to spare.


Article continues below this ad

Leicester have won the league for the first time in their 132-year history and in a manner like no other. After failing to take all three points from Old Trafford, all they needed was Tottenham to slip up and they did. Tottenham gave their all against Chelsea to keep their title hopes alive but were visibly playing under a lot of pressure and emotion.

The Foxes have pulled off a miracle this season after they narrowly avoided the drop in the previous campaign. This comes as a terrific achievement as they are one of the only five clubs to have won the Premier League.

With their title odds being as low as 5000/1 at the start of the campaign, the Premier League has yet again managed to take the footballing world by storm.



Dhruv George

13380 articles

Dhruv George is a senior Formula One and NASCAR analyst for EssentiallySports, having authored nearly 12000 articles spanning different sports like F1, NASCAR, Tennis, NFL, and eSports. He graduated with a PG Diploma in Journalism from the Xavier Institute of Communications. Dhruv has also conducted interviews with F1 driver Pierre Gasly and Moto2 rider Tony Arbolino.