Now Reading
CEAT Cricket Awards: Sangakkara, Rahane, Amla awarded

CEAT Cricket Awards: Sangakkara, Rahane, Amla awarded

Legendary Sri Lankan wicket-keeper & batsman Kumar Sangakkara has now achieved another feat as he was announced the CEAT International Cricketer of the Year in a glittering ceremony in Mumbai. A major company in tyres, CEAT has been honouring the best cricketers at the international level based on their performances as rated by the CEAT Cricket Ratings since 1995.
Kumar Sangakkara has had two great years in 2014 and 2015, scoring runs in all the three formats across the globe. He guided his team to test series victory over England in England and Pakistan at home and was the pioneer of Sri Lanka’s World T20 triumph. And the four centuries he scored in the World Cup group stages were like cherries on the cake as his beautiful career ended. This is the first time Sangakkara is winning the title. The other Sri Lankans to have won the award – Sanath Jayasuriya (1997-98), Muttiah Muralitharan (2000-01, 2001-02, 2006-07) and Mahela Jayawardene (2007-08).
His fellow Sri Lankan and left arm spinner Rangana Herath was duly awarded the best international bowler of the year following his contribution in Sri Lanka’s success in the test format whereas South Africa’s Test Captain and opener Hashim Amla picked up the Batsman of the Year award. Ajinkya Rahane, who scored a century in India’s famous test win at Lord’s last year, besides contributing heavily in each of India’s four overseas tours of South Africa, New Zealand, England and Australia was adjudicated the Indian Cricketer Of The Year.
Deepak Hooda, better known for his batting in Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League, was given the Young Player Of The Year award. Vinay Kumar, who took 48 wickets at the domestic level and took his team to Ranji victory was awarded the Domestic Cricketer Of The Year award. The West Indian duo of Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard recieved the T20 Player Of The Year and the Popular Choice awards respectively. In addition, Rohit Sharma was given a CEAT Special Award for his record-breaking double ton of 264 against Sri Lanka.
Kapil Dev received the lifetime achievement award for his contribution to the game. Hailed amongst the foremost of all-rounders during his time, Kapil became the first cricketer to score 5000 runs and take over 400 wickets in Test cricket besides captaining India to a historic World Cup success in 1983.
Speaking at the ceremony, Gavaskar said, “It is once again an absolute a talent to see such a large gathering for the CEAT Cricket Awards. These awards have been the hallmark of excellence in recognizing excellence from all over the world. Objectivity is key to these ratings and they are for runs scored, wickets taken and catches held by a player.”
“It is for the contribution the player has made towards the team’s and his own success. I would also like to congratulate Mumbai Indians for their win (in IPL 2015). You have made every Mumbaikar proud.”
Full list of winners:
CEAT International Cricketer of the Year – Kumar Sangakkara
CEAT International Batsman of the Year – Hashim Amla
CEAT International Bowler of the Year – Rangana Herath
CEAT T20 Player of the Year – Dwayne Bravo
CEAT Indian Cricketer of the Year – Ajinkya Rahane
CEAT Special Award – Rohit Sharma
CEAT Domestic Cricketer of the Year – Vinay Kumar
CEAT Young Player of the Year – Deepak Hooda
CEAT International Lifetime Achievement Award – Kapil Dev
Scroll To Top