Share this article

“I Think I Got Him Out Lbw in His 190s” Dale Steyn on First ODI Double Century by Sachin Tendulkar

Published 05/16/2020, 1:44 PM EDT

Follow Us

South African cricketer Dale Steyn made a shocking revelation about Sachin Tendulkar’s first double century in ODI cricket. Sachin Tendulkar is considered as the ‘God of cricket‘. He has achieved many feats in his 24 years long international cricket career. 

America’s Favorite Video Today

The Little Master became the first cricketer to have ever scored a double century in the 50-over game. He achieved this feat on February 24, 2010, in Gwalior against South Africa. Going down the memory lane, Steyn recalled that he had managed to get Tendulkar’s wicket when he was playing at 190s in that match. However, the on-field umpire Ian Gould refused to give out to Sachin due to the fear of the Indian crowd present in the stadium. 

India managed to put up a massive total of 401/3 on board owing to the double century by Sachin Tendulkar. The Proteas couldn’t outperform the Indian team while chasing the target and lost the match by 153 runs. 


Article continues below this ad

Here take a look at the innings by Sachin Tendulkar: 


Dale Steyn opens up on the innings by Sachin Tendulkar in Gwalior


Article continues below this ad

Years later, Steyn finally spoke about that particular match in which the Master Blaster created history by scoring more than 200 runs in a single match. On the Sky Sports Cricket Podcast with James Anderson, Dale Steyn confirmed that he had taken the much-awaited wicket of Sachin in that match. 

Steyn said, “Tendulkar scored the first double hundred in ODI cricket, and it was against us in Gwalior. And I actually remember – I think I got him out lbw when he was about 190 odd. Ian Gould was the umpire, and he gave him not out.”


Get instantly notified of the hottest stories via Google! Click on Follow Us and Tap the Blue Star.

Follow Us

Shocked by the reaction of umpire Steyn questioned his decision and asked the reason for the same. Dale added, “And I was like, ‘Why, why did you give him not out!? That’s so dead.’ And he was like, ‘Mate, look around – if I gave him out, I won’t make it back to the hotel.’” 


Article continues below this ad

Further in the conversation, Dale also talked about the pressure of bowling to the veteran cricketer Sachin Tendulkar in India especially Mumbai. 

He said, “You bowl a bad bowl, and he hits you for four – he’s on nought and he hits you for four in Mumbai, it feels like the world is closing in on you. He’s only on four not out, he may as well have been on 500,”

Providing feedback will help us make your experience better.

The Fan's Perspective

Enjoyed Your Read? Let us know how likely you are to recommend EssentiallySports to your friends!

Least Likely

Most Likely



Written by:

Sakshi Jain


One take at a time