Wasim Jaffer Selects His All-Time Mumbai XI: Rohit Sharma, Sachin Tendulkar, and Sunil Gavaskar Make The Cut

April 11, 2020 10:17 pm

Wasim Jaffer, the former Indian Cricket player, comes forward with his all time Mumbai XI. This list includes players since 1970. Players such as Rohit Sharma and Sunil Gavaskar are a part of the list.

Wasim Jaffer spent almost 20 years of his professional cricket career with the team. Following this, he made his move to Vidarbha during the 2015-2016 season.

Coming to the team selection, he first selects Sunil Gavaskar and Rohit Sharma as the team openers. On top of that, he names Gavaskar the captain of his all time Mumbai XI.

Gavaskar’s score is 25,834 runs during his first-class career. On the other hand, Rohit Sharma stands at 7,118 runs from the 32 Test matches he has participated in.

Colonel and Master Blaster make it to the all-time Mumbai XI list

Next, after the openers, he selected former Indian captain, Dilip Vengsarkar. He is popularly known as “Colonel” and is score stands at over 17,000 runs for the 116 Test Matches he played for team India.

Number four position of the team goes to none other than the “God of Cricket” Sachin Tendulkar. The number fifth position goes to his childhood friends Vinod Kambli. In fact, Tendulkar and Kambli have a partnership of 664 runs from their school days.

The wicketkeeping position of the team goes to Chandrakant Pandit. He has played 5 Test matches for India between 1986 and 1992.

The number seven spot on the team goes to both Sairam Bahutule and Ramesh Powar. Both of them are all-rounders.

Coming to the bowling department, Zaheer Khan, Arey Kuruvilla, and Ajit Agarkar/Abdul Ismail are selected. Furthermore, the only spinner specialist Wasim Jaffer selects is Padmakar Shivalkar.

Finally, the number twelve position goes to batsman Ghulam Parker. He played only 1 Test March for team India during 1982.

Here is the Tweet by Wasim Jaffer where he lists his all-time Mumbai XI

Disqus Comments Loading...