Now Reading
The F1 Championship Without the Big 3 Teams

The F1 Championship Without the Big 3 Teams


Every sport has a certain set of individuals or teams that have dominated the proceedings. In tennis, it was Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic. F1 is no different either, the sport has had its fair share of domination. Now, in the last decade or so, three teams held a monopoly of the podium and the win count. They are Mercedes, Ferrari and Red Bull. Ferrari has always been a strong team, right from the Schumacher era.

The F1 B Championship

Red Bull kicked off everything in 2010 right up till 2013 with Sebastian Vettel. In 2014, Mercedes picked up the slack and are continuing to this day. The monotony was only broken in 2009 when the debutant Brawn GP team sealed the title. Also, in 2005 and 2006, it was Renault who were the victors.

However, if there was no Mercedes, Ferrari or Red Bull in 2018, how would the championship shape up? According to a post on Facebook which did a few calculations, Renault driver Nico Hulkenberg would be leading the championship.

Nico Hulkenberg

WIth 17th rounds done and dusted, the German would be leading the ‘F1 B’ championship on 193 points. Things would kick off with second place for the German in Australia, a maiden podium, with the win going to Fernando Alonso. Hulkenberg’s first win would come in Bahrain, with another 3 in Canada, Great Britain and a home win.

However, unlike the real championship, this one is a real fight, with Force India’s Sergio Perez six points adrift. This championship is a straight battle between Renault and Force India with both drivers in the top 4.

In terms of wins, all 17 of them would be distributed among eight drivers. Four of them to Hulkenberg, three for Perez, two each for Esteban Ocon, Kevin Magnussen, Pierre Gasly and Fernando Alonso. Finally, one win each for Romain Grosjean and Charles LeClerc.

Renault vs Force India
Scroll To Top