From Lewis Hamilton to Stirling Moss, F1 Drivers Who Have Received the Knighthood Honor

Published 01/02/2021, 2:34 AM EST
FILE PHOTO: Formula One F1 – Eifel Grand Prix – Nurburgring, Nurburg, Germany – Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton celebrates on the podium after winning the race Pool via REUTERS/Wolfgang Rattay/File Photo

There was excitement and euphoria all round when it became official that seven-time F1 champion Lewis Hamilton will receive the knighthood honor. Included as one of the names in the Queen’s New Year Honors list, he becomes only the fourth F1 driver to receive the prestigious honor.


Article continues below this ad

Here, we take a look at the list of all the Formula 1 drivers that have been honored with a knighthood.

Sir Jack Brabham


Article continues below this ad

The Australian driver quickly became one of the legends in the earlier years of Formula 1. Sir Brabham won three Drivers’ titles, twice with Cooper Car Company and once with his own team, Brabham Racing Organisation.

Jack Brabham, Brabham-Repco BT19, Grand Prix of Italy, Autodromo Nazionale Monza, 04 September 1966. (Photo by Bernard Cahier/Getty Images)

He received his knighthood in the year 1979 as part of the New Year Honors List. In 2008, Sir Brabham also became an Officer of the Order of Australia, recognizing his contributions to motor racing.

Sir Stirling Moss

Sir Moss received his knighthood after being included in the 2000 New Year Honors List. Despite winning a number of races across various historic venues, he never clinched a Drivers’ title.

CHICHESTER, ENGLAND – SEPTEMBER 09: Sir Stirling Moss in Aston Martin DB3S, owned by Steve Boultbee Brooks, in the Assembly Area at Goodwood on September 9, 2016 in Chichester, England. (Photo by Michael Cole/Corbis via Getty Images)

Such was his misfortune that he finished runners-up in four consecutive seasons between 1955 and 1958. He sadly passed away in the year 2020, aged 90 years old.

Sir Jackie Stewart

‘The Flying Scot’ became F1 champion on three occasions. Many in the F1 community even regard him as one of the greatest drivers to grace the sport.

MONZA, ITALY – 2019/09/07: Jackie Stewart, 1969, 1971 and 1973 F1 world champion in the paddock of the Italian F1 Grand Prix at the Autodromo Nazionale di Monza. (Photo by Jure Makovec/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images)

Sir Stewart was also briefly team principal of the ‘Stewart Grand Prix’ racing team. Owing to his contributions to motor racing, he was awarded a knighthood in the year 2001.


Article continues below this ad

Sir Lewis Hamilton

The 35-year-old has taken the F1 world by absolute storm in the past decade. Having equaled Michael Schumacher’s tally of seven Drivers’ titles, Hamilton is on course to create further history.

FILE PHOTO: Formula One F1 – Turkish Grand Prix – Istanbul Park, Istanbul, Turkey – Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton celebrates after winning the race and the world championship Pool via REUTERS/Clive Mason/Pool/File Photo

He now finally receives the deserved honor of a knighthood, becoming the latest entrant in this year’s New Year Honors List. The Mercedes driver has accumulated 95 race wins so far and looks set to make it a century of victories in F1 going forward.


Article continues below this ad

Hamilton thus now joins an elite group of drivers that have left their mark on the sport in various ways. Hopefully, the Mercedes driver continues to inspire and motivate people around the world, now having received an important accolade.



Bhargav Gopal

927 articles

Hailing from Bengaluru, Bhargav is an F1 and NASCAR author for EssentiallySports. He is a huge fan of Max Verstappen and Red Bull Racing. Bhargav also has an MBA in Sports Management from the Symbiosis School of Sports Sciences, Pune.