Now Reading
Global T20 Second Season to Start from July 25

Global T20 Second Season to Start from July 25

The second season of the Global T20 Canada is scheduled to start from July 25 and will end on August 11. Global T20 is a domestic twenty-twenty cricket league, in association with Cricket Canada. The event will feature 6 teams with a total of 22 matches played, including the three playoffs and finals.

Global T20 league

The opening game of the tournament will be played between the defending champions, Vancouver Knights and the host team Toronto Nationals. The inaugural season of the tournament was a hit. Big names like Andre Russell, Chris Gayle, Steve Smith, David Warner, Kieron Pollard and many more were the part of the inaugural season of the Global T20 league. But the participation of Steve Smith and David Warner in this season looks highly unlikely as the two would be busy with the Ashes.

Global T20

Brian Lara is the brand ambassador of the Global T20 league. He said, “I was there to see the first edition of the league and was enormously impressed with the overall quality of cricket.”

The President of Cricket Canada, Ranjit Saini said in a statement, “We at Cricket Canada are committed to providing much-needed opportunity and exposure to our players. We will work alongside the GT20 team to make the 2019 edition even more memorable for the players and fans. On behalf of Cricket Canada, I invite the cricket world to Canada.”

The Maple Leaf Cricket Club in Toronto will host all the matches of the tournament. The event is scheduled keeping in mind the ICC Americas regional T20 qualifier finals featuring all the Canadian players which will start a week after the finals of the Global T20 league.

The Global T20 league will soon announce the player registration procedure in the coming days. The six franchises competing in the Global T20 league are Vancouver Knights, Toronto Nationals, Winnipeg Hawks, Edmonton Royals, Montreal Tigers, and West Indies B.

Scroll To Top