Home/Golf

via Getty

via Getty

With less than a day to go, fans and players get ready to witness the Solheim Cup again after two years. So we thought it might be nice to revisit an incident that colored the previous edition of the tournament. The incident involves Nelly Korda, and it happened right on the opening day of Solheim Cup 2021.

The sweet soul who usually throws smiles and hopes around her ended up being the reason for someone’s major disappointment. In case you have not heard this story before, or perhaps forgot it, hop in. 

Sagstrom cooks up a storm

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

On the opening day of Solheim Cup 2021, Nelly Korda and Ally Ewing from the US team faced Europe’s Nanna Koerstz Madsen and Madelene Sagstrom for the afternoon four-ball. At the thirteenth hole, Korda’s ball approached the hole and stopped above it. 

Madelene Sagstrom, however, tried to speed up the pace of the round and picked up the ball. Apparently, she was three seconds too early, and it was an illegal move. As compensation, Nelly Korda received one stroke less on her score. 

The rule for this situation is that an opponent can’t intentionally pick the ball until ten seconds have passed. This is to ensure the opponent doesn’t stop the ball from falling, in case it does after a few seconds. Sagstrom only allowed seven seconds, apparently.

The score didn’t actually drag the European team down much in the end. They had been dominating the tournament since the morning round, and they could still hold the lead comfortably. The European team actually stayed on top throughout the three days and took home the cup in 2021.

Read more: The Solheim Cup: Top 5 Controversial Moments

Although there were no ill intentions from anyone from either side of the conflict, the situation ended up awkward for the players. Here is how the two concerned individuals responded to the incident. 

Nelly Korda and her awkward encounter

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

While it’s true that team Europe dominated the game, in the particular match where the pairs had a conflict, the US team won. Nelly Korda and Ally Ewing scored a 1-up in the match against Sagstrom and Kristin Madsen, and won the match. 

Madelene Sagstrom was immensely disappointed in herself for letting the team down. It was quite early in the tournament, and for all she knew, it might have been a turning point for the US team. 

However, Nelly Korda did nothing to bring the situation to. She didn’t really call foul. She was busy being upset at not putting it properly. Speaking of it later, she mentioned how she felt bad for winning the match that way. She further hoped that the European duo were okay with them. 

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

With both Korda and Sagstrom present in the current year’s Solheim Cup, it would be interesting if they face each other in any of the rounds. Who would you root for in case that happens? Tell us in the comments!

Watch this story | As Rose Zhang Lays the Groundwork For the Upcoming Solheim Cup, She Expresses Her Excitement Over Future Teammate’s Maiden PGA Tour Victory

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT