Scottie Scheffler and Lydia Ko Kick off 2023 With a Prestigious American Honor

Published 01/12/2023, 9:30 AM EST

The Kiwis have done it. Lydia Ko and Steven Alker performed exceptionally on their respective PGA tours. Famous for her swing Ko, won 3 tournaments. After 2016, this was the first time she has won multiple tournaments. Alker won 4 tournaments on the PGA Tour Champions and also became the second-highest-earning player in the Senior Tour. He finished the season with 19 top-ten finishes, securing him the Charles Schwab Cup.

However, don’t forget about Scottie Scheffler, who won four tournaments and, most importantly, the Masters. With so much achieved by the trio, it was quite evident they were the recipients of a prestigious award.

Scottie Scheffler, Lydia Ko, and Steven Alker named GWAA Player of the Year


Article continues below this ad

After winning the CME Group Tour Championship, Ko received 79.5% of the votes, making her the Female player of the year. She also received the Vare Trophy for having the lowest point average for two years in a row.

“It means so much to me to win it for a second time. What an amazing year 2022 turned out to be”, Ko said after receiving her award. She also added how her marriage at the end of the year also make the already blissful year to further heights.

Ko further added, “While nothing could be more special than that, my golf was pretty good, too! I am truly thankful to everyone with the GWAA for recognizing me with this prestigious award”.

Scottie Scheffler won the Male Player of the Year award with 49.2% votes. His amazing performance contributed to him defeating Cameron Smith and Rory McIlroy for the title. His victory at the WM Phoenix Open set the teaser for the five-point win at the Masters. This secured him his first Green Jacket at Augusta National. 

via Reuters

“To win an award like that, to be recognized as the best player for the year, is really special, and something I’ll look back on in my career,” he said. Meanwhile, Kiwi golfer Steven Alker was honored to receive the title of Senior Player of the Year with 50.3% votes.


Article continues below this ad

He expressed gratitude towards the big wins he had and his consistency throughout the year. “I’m pleased and proud of myself for the consistency that I had throughout the year,” Alker said.

Golf Writers Association of America

The GWAA is a nonprofit organization. The association has been working since 1960 to improve the environment of golf writers. They are constantly working to improve the facilities available to media personnel during events. The organization also holds writing contests and sponsors a variety of initiatives.


Article continues below this ad

They recognize and honor the outstanding contributions to golf made by players and golf journalists. The GWAA conducts an annual awards dinner in Augusta, Georgia, where the winners are honored.

Watch This Story: Leave It at That: Golf Legend Jack Nicklaus Revealed Why Greg Norman Wont Look at Him ‘Eye to Eye’ Despite Their Longtime Friendship



Bhawika Bajaj

153 articles

Edited By: Abdul Bari Khan