Now Reading
Greatest Players to Never Win the Champions League

Greatest Players to Never Win the Champions League

Winning the FIFA World Cup is probably the biggest dream every footballer has but the UEFA Champions League is not far off. The best competition when it comes to club football guaranteeing a place among the stars. With the quality on display being the best in the world, the premier competition of Europe has become one of most fiercest and most glamorous one.

Players like Xavi and Ryan Giggs have been fortunate enough to win it more than once. Many footballing greats have had hard times winning the competition despite their talent.

Here we present you the 10 of the greats who have never won the famous trophy.

10. Michael Ballack


His is a perfect example of how a human being never gets everything in his life. The German midfielder was one of best of his time but yet failed to win either of the two most priceless medals that is the FIFA World Cup and the UEFA Champions League. But the highly respected former Germany captain has come agonizingly close to winning both on multiple occasions.

He has played in a World Cup Final (2002), a European Championship Final (2008), two Champions League Finals (2002, 2008), but he is as unlucky as unlucky can get as he lost all four of those finals. His first Champions League final was for Bayer Leverkusen in 2002, but they lost out to a magnificent goal by none other than Zinedine Zidane for Real Madrid. Ballack was also a member of the Chelsea team which lost the 2008 Champions League Final on penalties to Manchester united courtesy to the infamous slip from captain John Terry.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Scroll To Top