Now Reading
ICC Awards 2019: Full List of Winners

ICC Awards 2019: Full List of Winners


England all-rounder Ben Stokes won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for becoming the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year. He got the award after having an extraordinary 2019. Stokes was the ‘Man of the Match’ as England won the ICC World Cup after playing a dramatic super over against New Zealand at Lord’s on July 14.

During the voting period, he played 20 ODIs where he scored 719 runs along with 12 wickets. But, he was more successful in the longer format of the game. The all-rounder amassed 821 runs and took 22 wickets in 11 Tests he played during that period. The all-rounder smashed an unbeaten 135 in England’s one-wicket win in the third Ashes Test against Australia at Headingley in August.

Ben Stokes on his performance

“The last 12 months have been the best in my career, and I believe what we attained will be the catalyst to achieve further success over the next few years,” Ben Stokes said. “It is quite flattering to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year. The past 12 months have been incredible for England cricket and to lift the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup for the first time was our greatest achievement.”

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

While Stokes had a decent 2019, it was no less for Indian cricketers as well. India opener Rohit Sharma had a decent 2019 where he amassed a few tons in the World Cup. Captain Virat Kohli won everyone’s heart with his beautiful gesture on the field whereas Deepak Chahar registered the best T20I bowling figure.

Moreover, ICC introduced the World Test Championship. Even India successfully hosted its first-ever Day-night Test match. India won the pink-ball test against Bangladesh and made it a hugely successful event as well.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Umpire of the year: Richard Illingworth (England)

T20I Performance of the Year: Deepak Chahar’s 6/7 against Bangladesh

ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer: Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)

Associate Cricketer of the Year: Kyle Coetzer (Scotland)

Spirit of Cricket Award: Virat Kohli (India)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year: Rohit Sharma (India)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year: Pat Cummins (Australia)

ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy): Ben Stokes (England)

View Comments (0)

continue the banter

Scroll To Top