Now Reading
ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Australia World Cup Squad

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Australia World Cup Squad

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is less than 2 weeks away from now. The Cricket World Cup is one of the biggest cricketing events in the world. The 2019 World Cup will play host to the 12th edition of the tournament since 1975. The venue for the 2019 edition is England and Wales, whereas, in 2015, it was held in Australia and New Zealand. That year, Australia triumphed, taking their 5th World Cup trophy.

Australia team’s World Cup History

Coming to the Australian team, the nation has been the most successful in terms of the World Cup. The Australia team have romped to Cricket World Cup glory on five occasions. In fact, they are also the defending champions, having won in 2015, when they co-hosted with New Zealand.

The first time was in 1987 when they defeated to England. Then, in the 1999 World Cup, they The Men in Yellow triumphed over Pakistan, and later in 2003 they clinched victory over India. In 2007, Australia downed Sri Lanka to take a hat-trick of World Cup wins before grabbing a fifth in 2015 after beating New Zealand

Now, in the 2019 edition, Australia are certainly the favourites after winning multiple times.


The 15-member Australia World Cup 2019 squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 was announced a while ago, but they too have been affected but a loss. To be precise, Jhye Richardson withdrew after injuring his shoulder. However, the good news for Australia is that Kane Richardson has been called up to take Jhye’s place

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019
Jhye Richardson

Captain and Vice Captain

Aaron Finch captains the squad of Australia players in the World Cup 2019. The Vice Captain will be Pat Cummins, and they will be eager to bring back home a 6th trophy.


The Australia team for the World Cup 2019 consists of a batting lineup of Finch, Alex Carey, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Steve Smith and David Warner. Smith and Warner have made a comeback to the team after bans for their involvement in ball-tampering.


Their main pick for wicketkeeper is Alex Carey, but interestingly there is no backup keeper.


There are only three allrounders in the 15-member Australia squad for the World Cup 2019 list. In their team, they have Cummins, Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis.


In the Australia cricket team, there are quite a few bowling options. Australia boasts of the likes of Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Nathan Lyon, Kane Richardson, Mitchell Starc and Adam Zampa


In conclusion, the Australia team possesses a bowling heavy unit, but they also have strong options in batting.

For more ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 News, check out: ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule.

Scroll To Top