ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: England World Cup Squad

Published 05/19/2019, 10:23 AM EDT

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is less than 2 weeks away from now. All teams are eager to bring their A game on the big stage as the World Cup is one of the biggest sporting events. This year will witness the 12th running of the World Cup, since 1975. The venue for the 2019 edition is England and Wales, whereas, in 2015, it was held in Australia and New Zealand. That year, Australia triumphed, taking their 5th World Cup trophy.


Article continues below this ad

England team’s World Cup History

Coming to the England team, the hosts have participated since the World Cup’s inception. Surprisingly, for a nation that introduced cricket to the world, they have never won the Cricket World Cup.


Article continues below this ad

The highest that they have ever finished was when they were the runners up on three occasions. The first time was in 1979 when they lost to West Indies. Then, in the 1987 World Cup, they lost to Australia, and later in 1992 they lost to Pakistan.

Now, in the 2019 edition, the World Cup 2019 will be crunch time for the England players. This is because England are hosting the tournament, and the pressure will be on to win on their own turf.

Alex Hales


The 15-member England World Cup squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 was announced a while ago, but a spanner was thrown in the works. Namely, Alex Hales who withdrew after he was found guilty of partaking in recreational drugs.

Captain and Vice Captain

Eoin Morgan captains the squad of England players in the world cup 2019. His second-in-command will be Jos Buttler, who recently played in the IPL for the Rajasthan Royals inIPL 2019.


The England team for the World Cup 2019 consists of a batting lineup of Morgan, Jos Buttler, Joe Root and Jason Roy. Interestingly, they have not called for any backup to replace Alex Hales. However, they may be waiting for the series against Pakistan to wrap up before naming one.


Their main pick for wicketkeeper is Jos Buttler and an ideal number two is Jonny Bairstow.


There is no shortage of allrounders in the 14-member England squad for the world cup 2019 list. In their team, they have Moeen Ali, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Ben Stokes, David Willey and Chris Woakes.



Article continues below this ad

In the England cricket team, there is only one proper bowler in the team, namely Mark Wood


In conclusion, the England team  has a decent mix of players who are all in good form. Although the loss of Alex Hales was a major disappointment, they may hire someone at the last minute.


Article continues below this ad

For more ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 News, check out: ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule.


Dhruv George

11409 articles

Dhruv George is a senior Formula One and NASCAR analyst for EssentiallySports, having authored nearly 12000 articles spanning different sports like F1, NASCAR, Tennis, NFL, and eSports. He graduated with a PG Diploma in Journalism from the Xavier Institute of Communications. Dhruv has also conducted interviews with F1 driver Pierre Gasly and Moto2 rider Tony Arbolino.