ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: India World Cup Squad

May 19, 2019 1:28 am

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is nearly upon us and teams are working extremely hard for it. This year will be the 12th edition of the World Cup, since it started in 1975. The venue for the 2019 edition is England and Wales, whereas, in 2015, it was held in Australia and New Zealand. That year, Australia triumphed, taking their 5th World Cup trophy.

Indian team’s World Cup History

Coming to the Indian team, the Men in Blue have participated since the World Cup’s inception. After getting eliminated for two World Cup tournaments in a row, starting with the 1975 and the 1979 edition. Then, in the 1983 World Cup, India, very much the underdogs, pulled off the impossible and defeated the mighty West Indies.

Since then, the Men in Blue reached the semifinals twice and were the runners-up on one occasion. However, in 2011, under the leadership of MS Dhoni, the Indian team hoisted the trophy yet again. Finally, in the 2015 World Cup, India ended up as the semifinalists. Now, they are back for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 and will be itching to have a go and aim for a 3rd title.


The 15-member India squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 was announced a while ago, but a spanner was thrown in the works. Namely, Kedar Jadhav picked up an injury, so the BCCI selectors were scrambling to find a replacement. But the good news is that Jadhav has been declared fit and will travel to England.

Captain and VC

As expected, Virat Kohli will be leading the Men in Blue in the 2019 World Cup campaign. His second-in-command will be Rohit Sharma, who recently lead the Mumbai Indians to their fourth IPL title victory.

Virat Kohli


The Indian cricket team for the World Cup 2019 boasts of a strong batting lineup, consisting off Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul and Kedar Jadhav. They also have a decent set of backups, in the form of Ambati Rayudu and Rishabh Pant.


Their main pick for wicketkeeper is none other than MS Dhoni, with Dinesh Karthik serving as the backup.


The all-rounders in the team are Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja. However, they also have reserve allrounders like Axar Patel and Navdeep Saini.


India have a decent bowling attack consisting of Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami. The backup bowler is experience pacer, Ishant Sharma.


In conclusion, the Indian team  has a decent mix of players who are all in good form. Although Jadhav gave them a good scare with his shoulder injury in the IPL, he seems to have recovered.

Dhruv George

Dhruv George is an author for the Formula One and NASCAR division of EssentiallySports. He is a life-long F1 and MotoGP fan and recently began to follow NASCAR, developing a liking for McLaren and Carlos Sainz Jr. He graduated from Xavier Institute of Communications, Mumbai, with a PG Diploma in Journalism and now lives in Trivandrum.

Disqus Comments Loading...