ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: New Zealand Squad

May 21, 2019 1:12 am

The ICC Cricket World Cup is one of cricket’s most well-known events in the world. For the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, 10 countries will play each other to win the Cricket World Cup.

Since the championship’s inception in 1975, six nations have gone the distance and become World Cup champions. The quadrennial tournament took place in different eras and different formats were even employed. The ICC World Cup 2019 holds no exception, and promises to be one of the most exciting and fiercely contested world cups. The hosts, England will certainly be the favourites, with their consistent form and a well-balanced squad.

New Zealand team’s World Cup History

The New Zealand team has yet to earn the right to be called ICC Cricket World Cup champions. The nation has reached the semifinals on six occasions and even finished as the runners up in 2015.

During their entire World Cup campaign through the years, the Kiwis have been in the semifinals in 1975, 1979, 1992, 1999, 2007 and 2011. In the 2015 edition of the World Cup, the Kiwis came agonisingly close, but lost to neighbours, Australia.

Now, in the 2019 edition, the New Zealanders will be aiming to finally get the monkey off their backs


The 15-member New Zealand World Cup 2019 squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 was announced in early April. Luckily for them, there have been no injury dramas ahead of the biggest tournament in the world.

Captain and Vice Captain

Kane Williamson leads the Kiwis in the World Cup 2019, while Tom Latham serves as his second-in-command..


The New Zealand team for the World Cup 2019 consists of a batting arsenal of Williamson, Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls and Ross Taylor.


Their main pick for wicketkeeper is Latham. However, Tom Blundell is also on standby in case his services are required.


Colin de Grandhomme, James Neesham and Mitchell Santner are the three allrounders representing the Kiwis.


Coming to the bowling unit, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Ish Sodhi and Matt Henry lead the attack for the New Zealand team


In conclusion, the New Zealand team have a fairly well-balanced side. Hopefully they can go all the way and snatch a World Cup win.

For more ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 News, check out: ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule.

Dhruv George

Dhruv George is an author for the Formula One and NASCAR division of EssentiallySports. He is a life-long F1 and MotoGP fan, developing a liking for McLaren and Carlos Sainz Jr, and recently began to follow NASCAR. He graduated from Xavier Institute of Communications, Mumbai, with a PG Diploma in Journalism and now lives in Trivandrum.

Disqus Comments Loading...