ICC T20 World Cup 2020: Australia Schedule

July 26, 2019 12:34 am

The seventh edition of the ICC T20 World Cup will take centre stage in Australia in October 2020. The tournament schedule begins from October 18 to November 15 and will be played across seven different venues.

As the home team, Australia will be confident of doing well in front of their home crowd. Australia, in the last edition of the World T20 in 2016 in India, failed to make it to the knock out stages.

Australia were the first team to win an International T20 match, when they played the first full international men’s Twenty 20 match against New Zealand in 2005. But they are yet to win a T20 World Cup after participating in all the editions of the mega tournament. In the six editions of the T20 World Cup so far, Australia have appeared in the finals only once in 2010. This time though, they will come in with high ambitions and expectations.

Australia’s schedule for the T20 World Cup 2020-

Australia, by virtue of being among the top eight nations, have directly qualified for Super 12 and are placed in Group 1 with defending champions West Indies, neighbors New Zealand and the top ranked Pakistan.

Being the host nation, Australia will play the inaugural match of the tournament against Pakistan on October 24 at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) in Sydney.

Australia will later play the defending champions West Indies. The last league match for Australia will be against their closest rivals New Zealand before playing the two team that will join their group from the first Round.

Australia are set to play their five matches in as many different venues between October 24 and November 6.

October 24: Australia vs Pakistan, Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney (1:30 PM IST)

October 28: Australia vs West Indies, Perth Stadium, Perth (4.30 PM IST)

October 31: Australia vs TBC, Brisbane Cricket Ground, Brisbane (2.30 PM IST)

November 3: Australia vs TBC, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (2.00 PM IST)

November 6: Australia vs New Zealand, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne (1.30 PM IST)


Disqus Comments Loading...