Now Reading
ICC T20 World Cup 2020: List of Venues

ICC T20 World Cup 2020: List of Venues

The seventh edition of the ICC T20 World Cup is scheduled for Australia in October next year. After West Indies, in the most dramatic of fashions clinched the last T20 World Cup in India when Carlos Brathwaite hit four consecutive sixes off Ben Stokes, this edition is expected to be equally exciting if not more.

Venues for the ICC T20 World Cup 2020-

Australia is home for some excellent cricket stadiums with some historical importance. The T20 World Cup will take place in as many as seven grounds across the length breadth o0f Australia.

1. Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne

 No. of matches : 7; Capacity: 100,024

2. Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), Sydney

No. of matches : 7; Capacity: 46,000

3. Perth Stadium, Perth

No. of matches : 6; Capacity: 60,000

4. Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

No. of matches : 6; Capacity: 53,500

5. The Gabba, Brisbane

No. of matches : 4; Capacity: 42,000

6. Bellerive Oval, Hobart

No. of matches : 8; Capacity: 20,000

7. Kardinia Park, Geelong

No. of matches : 6; Capacity: 34,000

Venue for Finals and Semi-finals:

The Melbourne Cricket Ground has a capacity of over a hundred thousand which is set to host the finals of the ICC T20 World Cup 2020 on the 15th of November. The first semi final will be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) in Sydney on 11 November while the Adelaide Oval will host the second semi finals a day after.

The Bellerive Oval in Hobart and Kardinia Park in Geelong will host all the matches in the first round, which is a qualifier for the Super 12 stage where the top four teams from the first round will join the eight teams that qualified automatically for the Super 12.

The complete schedule and ticket prices for the World Cup have also been announced.

The first match of the Super 12 stage of the T20 World Cup will see the host Australia take on the top ranked side Pakistan on October 24 at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Before that, the first round to decide the teams for Super 12 will take place from October 18 to October 23. The initial qualifiers will take place in the United Arab emirates (UAE) in October and November 2019.

Scroll To Top