ICC T20 World Cup 2020: South Africa Schedule

July 27, 2019 11:48 am

After the ICC World Cup 2019 has done and dusted, fans have geared up for the next big event, that is none other than the ICC T20 World Cup. The seventh edition of the mega event will take place in Australia from October 18 in 2020. The matches will be played in seven different venues in Australia where the final will be held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. The tickets of the mega event will be on sale from October.

Although South Africa are in the third and fourth place in the Tests and ODI rankings, they are placed at third in the shortest format of the game after Pakistan and England respectively. South Africa have never reached the final of the T20 World Cup. They have reached the semi-finals twice in 2009 and 2014 but lost to Pakistan and India respectively.

South Africa had a dismal show in the recently concluded ICC World Cup 2019. It will be interesting to see how they will perform in another big event after their poor show in the ICC World Cup 2019.

South Africa’s schedule for the T20 World Cup 2020:

Being in the top eight teams, South Africa have directly qualified for the ICC World T20. South Africa have placed in Group 2 along with England, India and Afghanistan. South Africa will begin their campaign against India on October 24 at Perth.

Their next game will be against the 50-over World Cup winner England. Their third game will be against Afghanistan. Both the games will be played in Sydney and Adelaide respectively. The final two games will be played against the teams who will qualify from the First Round. They will take place in Adelaide and Sydney on November 5 and 8 respectively.

October 24: South Africa vs India, Perth Stadium, Perth (4.30 PM IST)

October 30: South Africa vs England, Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney (1.30 PM IST)

November 1: South Africa vs Afghanistan, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (9.00 AM IST)

November 5: South Africa vs A2, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (9.00 AM IST)

November 8: South Africa vs B1, Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney (8.30 AM IST)

Tags: South Africa
Disqus Comments Loading...