ICC World Test Championship 2019: New Zealand Squad for Sri Lanka Tour

July 30, 2019 12:53 am

After the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, the focus has shifted to the ICC World Test Championship. After The Ashes and the India tour of West Indies, New Zealand will be starting their campaign in the ICC World Test Championship 2019-21.

New Zealand will play a two test series against Sri Lanka which means the teams will be playing for 60 points per game as per the ICC World Test Championship points distribution.

The first Test of the series will be played in Galle, starting on August 14, while the second match will take place at Colombo PSS, commencing on August 22.

New Zealand have announced the squad for their opening series in the ICC World Test Championship against Sri Lanka.


New Zealand have a good opening batsman in the form of Tom Latham. Jeet Raval is expected to open alongside him with the rest of the batting to follow.

Middle order-

New Zealand have a strong middle order which almost picks itself. Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor should be followed by Henry Nicholls and Colin deGrandhomme, making a tough lie up for any bowling unit to breakthrough.

Wicket keepers-

Tom Blundell, with just 2 test matches under his belt might play as second fiddle to BJ Watling. While Though Tom Latham can also keep wickets, it is always Watling who is behind the stumps and Latham plays as a pure batsman..


The duo of Trent Boult and Tim Southee is supported by the left arm medium pace of Niel Wagner. A series in sub continent makes spinners that much more important. Maybe that is what worked on favour the selection of Will Somerville.

New Zealand Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Jeet Raval, Will Somerville, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling

Disqus Comments Loading...