Now Reading
IND vs WI 2019: Shikhar Dhawan Rules Out of the T20I Series, Sanju Samson Recalls

IND vs WI 2019: Shikhar Dhawan Rules Out of the T20I Series, Sanju Samson Recalls

Shikhar Dhawan

India have got the big blow ahead of the West Indies series as they wouldn’t get the service of the opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan in the T20I series. Dhawan has been ruled out due to injury, the BCCI confirmed the news on Wednesday. Sanju Samson has replaced the veteran opener in the squad.

Sanju Samson was not a part of the squad initially after having not played even a single game against Bangladesh in the recently concluded series despite being in the squad. However, Dhawan suffered a deep cut on his left knee while he was playing for Delhi against Maharashtra in Surat in the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

The opener, however, has been going through a poor phase with the bat ever since he has returned after the ICC World Cup. In the three T20Is against Bangladesh, he could only manage to score 91 runs. Even his form in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is not that great. In five matches so far, he has the highest score of 35.

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson. ©Francois Nel – IDI/IDI via Getty Images

The BCCI Medical Team has checked him on Tuesday to review the recovery of his wound. The BCCI Medical Team has suggested that the opener needs some more time to recover as his stitches to come off and also the wound will also heal completely.

India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sanju Samson

However, earlier the axe of Sanju Samson left everyone in shock. He himself was left speechless as well. The 25-year-old player took to Twitter on Friday (November 22) and posted an emoji instead of writing any text there.

However, this series will see the veteran pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s return who had been suffering from an injury. India will play three Twenty20 Internationals against the West Indies which is scheduled to start in Mumbai on December 6 followed by two matches in Thiruvananthapuram (December 8) and Hyderabad (December 11) respectively. Following that, the three ODIsc will be played in Chennai (December 15), Visakhapatnam (December 18) and Cuttack (December 22).

Scroll To Top