India World Cup Squad
The Indian cricket team

The Indian cricket team will be facing England in a three-match ODI series on July 12th. Virat Kohli will lead the India ODI squad with Rohit Sharma as vice captain. The three ODIs will be played on July 12, 14 and 17, respectively. The ODI series takes place after a 3-match T20 series.

The last time team India toured England, they won the five-match ODI series by a 3-1 margin. The opening match was abandoned due to adverse weather conditions while India went onto win the next three ODIs to clinch the series. England won the fifth ODI as consolation in the five-match series.

At that time, Kohli had being going through a dry spell as he managed just 54 runs from 4 innings. He will be looking for some redemption in the upcoming tour of England in 2 months’ time.

The Indian cricket team

The BCCI has officially announced the India ODI squad for three-match series. The members are as follows: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma (Vice Captain), KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Siddharth Kaul, Umesh Yadav.

The Indian team’s ODI form has been exceptional, especially last year. Their run consists of seven straight victories in bilateral ODI series against England, West Indies, Sri Lanka (two times), Australia, New Zealand and South Africa.

The South Africa victories had an even bigger impact as it was India’s first-ever bilateral ODI series win. During that series, Virat Kohli was in fine form as he scored 558 runs in the six matches.

In India’s last ODI series against England, the Men in Blue won 2 of the 3 matches and England won the final match of the series.

There were some surprising exclusions from the India ODI squad, like Ajinkya Rahane and Mohammed Shami.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here