India Vs Australia Series 2017: Shikhar Dhawan Out From Indian Squad For The First 3 ODIs

September 14, 2017 11:31 pm

According to the latest report, the Virat Kohli led Indian ODI side is missing a key player. One of Indian opening slots occupied by Shikhar Dhawan has turned vacant following his leave to attend to his unwell wife. His inadvertent depart from the team for first 3 ODI’s against Australia floated the dark cloud over Indian batting line up. Prior to this series, this could be a big blow for Indian perspective. Therefore the Indian team now must be more careful in choosing his replacement.

Hindustan Times

Read Also:

This series includes five ODIs and three T20Is against Australia, which starts on September 17 onwards. This is not the first instance when Dhawan took such undertaking during the ongoing series. He also withdrew midway during the Lanka series final ODI and one-off T20I in September to see his ailing mother. He was the highest run-getter in the test series and also scored 132 in the opening ODI of the series. Hence during his absence, Indian team must look for a potential opener who could lead the team from the front. For the same Kohli-Shastri duo must have gone through an exhaustive hunt over the young talents from the bench. Otherwise, all eyes would be on BCCI’s new replacement for Dhawan which would scratch the surface in few days.

Read Also:

“Team India opener Mr. Shikhar Dhawan has requested to be released from the team for the first three ODIs of the Paytm Australia tour of India, 2017 to attend to his wife, who is unwell,” a BCCI release stated.

The Senior Selection Committee has not named any replacement for the batsman. During the last series as well, Dhawan had left after the One-day Internationals to support his ailing mother.

Read Also: 

Chennai, Kolkata, Indore, Bengaluru, Nagpur will be scheduling the five ODI Internationals. On the other end, Ranchi, Guwahati, and Hyderabad will be holding the three T20Is.

Read Also:

Indian Squad:

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

Ranojoy Middya

Belonging to the cohort of cricket fanatics, Ranojoy Middya is an assiduous cricketer who aspires to live life in purview of the cricketing world; penning his line of thinking at present and living up to it in the near future.

Disqus Comments Loading...