India Women’s Cricket Team thrash New Zealand Women to take the series 3-2

July 8, 2015 4:46 pm

The Indian Women’s Cricket Team, led by Mithali Raj, destroyed New Zealand by 9 wickets in the 5th ODI to win the series 3-2. After losing the games where the ICC Championship points were at stake, the Indian batsmen came back to form chasing 119 runs in only 27.2 overs.

Earlier, the Kiwi skipper Suzie Bates had won the toss and chose to bat in this all important encounter which was to decide the series. Although, Suzie Bates held one end, wickets were falling from the other end at regular intervals. Bates top scored with an uncharacteristic 42 from 85 balls with only two boundaries followed by 22 from Anna Peterson. Rajeshwari Gaykwad was the pick of the bowlers for the Indians picking up two wickets from her 8 overs at an economy of just 1.87. Jhulan Goswami and Deepti Sharma also picked two wickets each as New Zealand was bowled out for a paltry 118.

Indians could have had a tough 20 mins before the scheduled lunch break with the bowling that New Zealand had. Instead, they had a quick start with Smriti Mandhana smashing three consecutive boundaries of New Zealand bowler Tahuhu. She then fell to a ball that stopped on her and gave an easy catch to Morna Nielsen. Thirush Kamini, who struggled earlier, made amends by scoring of the poor balls after the dismissal and along with Deepti Sharma stitched an undefeated 103 run partnership which took India over the line. Kamini top scored with 62 from 78 balls which included 13 boundaries and Deepti ended with 44 from 78 balls which had 8 boundaries. All the Kiwi bowlers looked ineffective and seemed to be bowling on a different pitch. Suzie Bates had an attacking field but the score put up by her batsman was far to less to stop the Indians and as a result the series was won by Indian Women.

Brief Scores:

New Zealand Women 118 in 41 overs (Suzie Bates 42; Jhulan Goswami 2 for 17, Rajeshwari Gayakwad 2 for 15) lost to India Women 121 for 1 in 27.2 overs (Thirush Kamini 62*, Deepti Sharma 44*; Morne Nielson 1 for 23) by 9 wickets.

Disqus Comments Loading...