Indian women’s Cricket team cleared to participate in overseas leagues

Published 06/02/2016, 2:49 PM EDT
Indian Women’s Cricket Team. Picture Courtesy: Cricket Australia/Getty Images

BCCI has now approved the Indian women’s team to play in the overseas leagues in Australia and England, in the tournaments such as the Women’s Big Bash League in Australia and the Women’s Super League in England. The announcement came out after the meeting of BCCI’s women’s cricket committee held on Wednesday. The likes of Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami are expected to play in these prestigious tournaments.


Article continues below this ad

The BCCI, however, is too late to come out with the decision, for the Indian women’s participation in the first edition of Women’s super league, to be held from 30th July to 14th August this year. The ECB has already signed  up 18 overseas players– from Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and West Indies, among which no Indian player will feature this year. The Indian players were also ripped of the opportunity of participating in the inaugural WBBL.
India Women ODI squad which clinched the bilateral series against Australia earlier this year.
Picture Courtesy: Cricket Australia/Getty Images


Prabhjot Singh Sidhu

39 articles

A cricket enthusiast. A budding writer. A fan of left-arm pace.


More from EssentiallySports on Cricket