Jason Roy and Olly Stone to Make Debuts for England vs Ireland

July 24, 2019 12:50 pm

Desrtuctive opener Jason Roy and paceman Olly Stone are set to make their Test match debuts for England vs Ireland on Wednesday.

England test match skipper Joe Root backed his selection saying he was capable of making big contributions.

“With Jason, we want him to be himself, express himself and trust his instincts as much as possible,” Root said.

“He brings something different to our Test batting side, he’s a proven performer in international cricket and fully capable of making big contributions. I hope he doesn’t try to play differently, I hope he’ll go and be himself.

Jason Roy himself was pretty confident of doing well in test Match cricket.

It is a very, very new challenge and something I have been excited for and nervous for the last couple of years,” Roy told Sky Sports.

“I have been in a good place with my cricket and feel in the best place I can be to succeed. Whether that is the case. I don’t know.

“The reason I have been so successful in the last couple of years and playing such good cricket and the top order is because my defence has been in really good order,” he added.

Roy will open the innings with his childhood friend Rory Burns.

Pacer James Anderson also backed Roy’s selection.

“There were occasions in the World Cup when he had to trust his defence and he might have to draw that out a bit longer in Test cricket – but he can go and put the pressure back on the opposition. He’s one of the best in the world at that.” Anderson, 36, no longer plays ODI cricket said.

While the veteran pacer failed to recover from a calf injury, Warwickshire pacer Olly Stone will be handed his test cap against Ireland.

World Cup heroes Jofra Archer and Mark Wood were also unavailable for selection.

England are set to play a one off Test match against Ireland, who, after obtaining test status last year, are still looking for their first win.

England team to play against Ireland-

Jason Roy, Rory Burns, Joe Denly, Joe Root (capt), Jonny Bairstow (wkt), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Sam Curran, Stuart Broad, Olly Stone, Jack Leach.

Disqus Comments Loading...