Now Reading
Jimmy Neesham Mocks the ICC Super Over Rule Change with a Hilarious Tweet

Jimmy Neesham Mocks the ICC Super Over Rule Change with a Hilarious Tweet

Jimmy Neesham

ICC (International Cricket Council) has recently changed their “boundary count” rule. However, they had received a lot of criticism regarding their super over rule during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. According to the earlier rule, the team scoring more boundaries throughout the match will be the winner if in case the super over too will end in a tie.

The same rule was used which played a crucial role in England’s World Cup win earlier this year. Cricket freternity as wel as fans, players including New Zealand all-rounder James Neesham had shared their disappointment with the rule and they way they lost the game despite being performed well.

However, during the boards meeting in Dubai, the “boundary count” rule has been resolved. From now onwards, if a knockout match of either of the 50-over World Cup or the T20 World Cup ends in a tied super over, both the teams will play another super over and the process will continue until a clear winner is decided through the game.

An ICC statement said it was “in keeping with the basic principle of scoring more runs than the opponent to win”.

After the announcement, Jimmy Neesham took to Twitter and post a hilarious tweet regarding the new rule.

It is also important to mention that not just the tied knockout matches but all the tied matches of the ODI and T20I World Cup will have to play a super over. However, the new rule will only be applicable in knockout matches only. A tied super over in a league match can only see the match ending in a tie.

Scroll To Top