Now Reading
Liam Dawson, Jofra Archer In; David Willey Out from ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 England Squad

Liam Dawson, Jofra Archer In; David Willey Out from ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 England Squad

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Pacer Jofra Archer has finally got the chance to play in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 for England. Aside from him, Liam Dawson and James Vince have also got the nod to play on the big stage.

The news was confirmed by England chief selector Ed Smith as the England Cricket Board (ECB) finalised their final 15 to play at the ICC Cricket World Cup. Archer’s inclusion came on the back of an impressive performance during the ODI series against Pakistan. Archer snatched three wickets at an average of 36 and S/R of 44, which naturally got the ECB’s attention.

An in-form Liam Dawson was also included in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 England squad, who’s last match was against Sri Lanka. James Vince was also brought in to take the slot vacated by Alex Hales, in the wake of the latter’s off-field drama.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019
Jofra Archer

However, just as some players were included, a few others needed to be sacrificed. The ones facing the chopping block are David Willey and Joe Denly. Fortunately for them, the good news is that it may not be curtains for Denly and Willey. There are chances that they could be on standby in case of an emergency, like an unexpected injury.

Willey’s case was a tough decision as the choice was between himself and Tom Curran. Unfortunately for the former, Curran’s statistic of nine wickets in 4 games made the difference between being included in the team and being axed.

Interestingly, Ed Smith and the rest of the selectors have elected not to tamper with the batting section and the allrounders section. Also, with Archer bowling consistent speeds of 90+kph, he could be a regular in the lineup. Vince and Dawson will likely get occasional slots in the playing XI as the tournament progresses.

Final England World Cup 2019 Squad: Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Eoin Morgan (capt), Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Scroll To Top