Malan and Mills included in the England T20 squad

June 14, 2016 11:23 am

The Middlesex batsman, Dawid Malan and Tymal Mills, the Sussex left-arm quick have been named in the one-off T20 international which England plays against Sri Lanka at the Ageas Bowl on July 5. The likes of Joe Root, Alex Hales and Moeen Ali have been rested for the one-off game, having been named in the ODI squad.

Both James Anderson and Stuart Broad were once again kept away from the ODIs and T20Is. Jonny Bairstow has been included for both the ODIs and T20. Liam Dawson, the Hampshire allrounder who failed to make his debut and spent the entire WT20 on the bench, retains his place.

Mills, famous for his ability to bowl over 90 mph, has been rewarded with the breakthrough on the back of a successful season with Sussex during this year’s Natwest T20 blast. He was forced to retire from first-class cricket last year after being diagnosed with a congenital back condition and is limited to the T20 cricket but has been in the scheme of things for England due to his express pace. He is also known for using variations to good effect at the death.


Tymal Mills celebrating the wicket of Nick Compton during his 4-22 against Middlesex, Natwest T20 blast.
Source: SkySports

Malan scored 253 runs in five T20 games at a healthy strike rate of 131.77 against Pakistan A in the United Arab Emirates, along with 211 runs in four one-day appearances and also hit a 48-ball 93 against Hampshire a few weeks ago in the Natwest T20 Blast. With Alex Hales’s exclusion, he is likely to open the innings alongside Jason Roy, hampering the left-hand-right-hand combination at the start of the innings.

“Tymal Mills has been one of the standout performers with the ball in the NatWest T20 Blast competition this season and deserves his chance,” James Whitaker, the national selector, said. “Dawid Malan has made great strides as an attacking batsman, both with Middlesex and the England Lions. We were particularly impressed with his three fifties during the winter tour of the UAE against Pakistan A”, he added.

ODI squad : Eoin Morgan (C), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Chris Jordan, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, James Vince, David Willey, Chris Woakes

T20 squad: Eoin Morgan (C), Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Liam Dawson, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, James Vince, David Willey

Disqus Comments Loading...